Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 14, 2009, 06:14 PM
MVP

Cool First Post - i7 Build

Well, howdy from Edmonton, everyone. I'm an old vet of the hardware enthusiast scene (anyone remember overclockersclubcanada? I used to review and newspost.) who's lost touch with things in the past few years. And so, discovered this site for the first time a couple days ago as I was doing my research for a new build.

Just got home with a boxload of stuffs, looking forward to putting it together tonight. Still posting on my 4600+ for now, that's going to be donated to mrs. keto. I will be sad to see her system go - 1700+ on an NF-7, that system has been running overclocked 24/7 for god knows how long, must be 7 years or so? More? It was my primary system at one time, then my surfing rig on a KVM alongside my gaming rig, then was just a folder for a while, then wife's.

I'll be scavenging the case and HD (Seagate 500GB - I'm not a big storage user) from my old system. Otherwise, we have:

• i7-920 (I can't find stepping info on the box or chip face, where do I check?)
  • Gigabyte EX58-UD5 (wanted the 4, MemEx doesn't carry)
  • OCZ PC3 14400 3x 2GB
  • Sapphire 4890 OC Edition (inspired by the review here)
  • TR True 120 Black, with dual SFlex 1600RPM 120's in push pull (I know I might have to lap this and the chip HS, will see once I get it running)
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W PSU (didn't care about modular)
  • LG 22X DVD (don't care about Blueray, don't watch movies on comp)
I'm trying to get the Win7 Release Candidate but am having some login issues, so may put XPPro on for now.

My hope is to run this chip at something like 3.5 for day to day operations. We'll see, obviously.

Go easy on the n00b (me) if I ask a few questions, I do have a bit of a learning curve to make up but should get the hang of things quickly.
Old July 14, 2009, 06:26 PM
MVP