Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 07:51 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
So my original plan was to play with this using stock cooling, then move up to the new CM Hyper 212+ (I have one on order from NCIX), and then to move on to WC.

So far I've hit 62c on stock cooling w/ 1.360V @ 3375............

Does anybody remember that commercial for how many licks it takes to get to the center of a tootsie roll sucker????? If you do, then count with me here... 1.... , 2....., 3......., Crunch!!!!!!........





I'm not sure how that got on there so quickly.... somebody must have installed it while I was having supper.....


Load temps now @ 32c :)
LOL !!! Now that didn't take long...
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 07:54 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

wow those lian li cases are AMAZING, i so want to get my hands on one of them.

I was blown away when i saw how cool those AM3 cpus were. its freaking amazing with such high overclocks and it loads under 40C.
but the thing is, at the amd site max temps for an 720 BE is 73C compared to intels 100C cpus

And what would be a safe volt to run the CPUs? i seen a lot of people run them at 1.5V as cap.

And you seem to keep your 720BE under 1.375V.

and how are the temps on that freaking huge northbridge?
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 08:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Keep in mind that's only the motherboard tray for a lian-li strapped onto the top of a top mount highspeed tech station..... :)

One thing I am aware of is the lower max temp for the PhII chips. I wasn't overly comfortable with going over 60c, and thus why it went under water so quickly.

Everybody has their own personal limits, but I'm going to stay safe (1.5 max) for 24/7, but I might sneak over that a bit for a couple of suicide attempts..... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 09:16 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

Remember, the Phenom II love the cold, so the cooler it run, the less volt it need
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 11:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Managed a stable 3600 fairly easily (nothing but Vcore adjustments). 3700 is being a bit trickier (don't want to just jump right up to 1.5V), and I suspect I'm starting to get into secondary Voltage tweaking range.

Currently sitting at 13 X 286. Been keeping HT / HTT at 2K with the mem under 1600 w/ high timings (9-9-9) so there's a lot more room to play. Not sure how high the "FSB" will go on this board, but I suspect I'm starting to get to a place where I'll need to up some secondary voltages to get it above 300.

That's probably it for today's build/OC session. Might get a chance to throw in a few combinations each night after work. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 11:34 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Managed a stable 3600 fairly easily (nothing but Vcore adjustments). 3700 is being a bit trickier (don't want to just jump right up to 1.5V), and I suspect I'm starting to get into secondary Voltage tweaking range.

Currently sitting at 13 X 286. Been keeping HT / HTT at 2K with the mem under 1600 w/ high timings (9-9-9) so there's a lot more room to play. Not sure how high the "FSB" will go on this board, but I suspect I'm starting to get to a place where I'll need to up some secondary voltages to get it above 300.

That's probably it for today's build/OC session. Might get a chance to throw in a few combinations each night after work. :)
There is no perfromance increase in overclocking the HT just remember not to drop the NB below the HT.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 11:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
There is no perfromance increase in overclocking the HT just remember not to drop the NB below the HT.
There's actually a note about that in the MSI BIOS when you're playing with the settings.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 11:41 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

Man I am one paycheck away from ordering that board!!!!

Still loving it sswilson??
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 11:51 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Yep, so far I'm impressed. Aside from the funky PCIe X16 slot choices everything so far has been well above my expectations.

Only time will tell though when it comes to the final OC. My initial attempt at setting the mem to rated specs wouldn't prime so we'll have to see how well it manages to deal with tighter timings once I've got the CPU dialed in to my satisfaction.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2009, 03:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

Back at this for a second round.

I'd been testing stability with OCCT, but supergrover mentioned to me that his 720be wouldn't hold stable using prime so I've switched back to that. Currently trying to get 1/2 hr at 3550 with a 2300+ NB and mem running just under spec. seems to be doing well.

Installed the 1.52 beta bios and was able to unlock the 4'th core, but for some reason my vid card drivers don't like it.... I get into the windows splash screen fine, but it drops to a black screen as soon as the system tries to load up the drivers. If I stick with stock windows drivers it's fine. With that in mind (and the fact that some folks are waiting for air cooler results on this board... :) ) I'm going to stick with getting the best 3 core OC I can get and then worry about 4'th core/driver issues at a later date.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
720be , 790fx-gd70 , amd , hyper 212 plus , msi , phenom ii

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LANsomnia Redux 2009....New Brunswick LionRed Canadian LAN Parties & Events 6 August 20, 2009 09:25 AM
[FS] FS/WTT Viewsat VS2000 Platinum loath Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 25, 2009 04:04 PM
[WTB] Looking for Radeon X850 XT Platinum Edition lemonlime Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 9, 2008 07:50 AM
MSI X58 Platinum, anyone use it? jak3_dude CPU's and Motherboards 7 December 7, 2008 01:00 PM
Creative Audigy Platinum EX enaberif Off Topic 1 October 23, 2007 03:12 AM