Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 12:36 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

No luck with the ACC Auto/PSU off attempt.

Killed OCCT almost immediately with the proper settings on the mem so back to the bios.... :) (the dial works though.... :) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 02:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

Looks like you're having fun. It's probably too bad not more people give AMD another try. Me included.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:12 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyhorsejohnny View Post
Looks like you're having fun. It's probably too bad not more people give AMD another try. Me included.
Yep!!!!

This is exactly what the doctor ordered. It's been wayyyyy toooo long since I've had a completely new platform / hardware to play with. I've got no idea what half of these settings/voltages do, and I'm loving it!!!!! :)

As it stands.... I've dropped the memory down below spec, and I'm currently running OCCT @ 3100 with stock volts. If that holds for 1 hr, I'll save that as my base OC and work up slowly from there.

AFAIC, any person who enjoys the thrill of OC work (rather than just the thrill of getting extra performance out of a proc) should seriously consider looking into the AM3 platform. There's generally a lot more to overclocking an AMD chip than the standard "Raise FSB, raise CPU/NB V until you can't get any higher" we've gotten used to on the C2D platform.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
I'll probably start trying to populate the extra PCIe slots with lower end Nvidia cards for folding.
AFAIK you need to use cards with the same number of shaders.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 03:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theAnimal View Post
AFAIK you need to use cards with the same number of shaders.
Yet another thing I'll have to look into. :)

As it stands, this isn't my gaming rig so I could conceivably transfer the 280 over to my main rig and populate this one with 8800s or something similar.

Now if ATI were to do something about improving their PPD, I'd be interested in giving the whole Dragon platform a shot..... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 04:36 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

hi there mr.wilson :)

for your 790FX-GD70 you need the 1.5b1 bios, you get read more about it here

LemonLime also have that board and a X2 550BE and he was successful in unlocking the other 2 cores

Hope i am not ruining you fun in your new system

I would love to see some screenies too

As for overclockablity and extra suspends fun, try to gamble on a x2 550 BE those overclock really great and you might unlock an extra 2 cores IF not just make them scream at 4ghz
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 05:25 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
hi there mr.wilson :)

for your 790FX-GD70 you need the 1.5b1 bios, you get read more about it here

LemonLime also have that board and a X2 550BE and he was successful in unlocking the other 2 cores

Hope i am not ruining you fun in your new system

I would love to see some screenies too

As for overclockablity and extra suspends fun, try to gamble on a x2 550 BE those overclock really great and you might unlock an extra 2 cores IF not just make them scream at 4ghz
Thanks for the link to the bios. I'd seen a 1.45 beta bios, but was going to wait until after I'd played with the OC at stock before putting a beta bios on the machine.

And, no.... information isn't going to ruin my fun. ;)

3250 was a go with stock voltages, but it's gonna take some V for 3375.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 07:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

So my original plan was to play with this using stock cooling, then move up to the new CM Hyper 212+ (I have one on order from NCIX), and then to move on to WC.

So far I've hit 62c on stock cooling w/ 1.360V @ 3375............

Does anybody remember that commercial for how many licks it takes to get to the center of a tootsie roll sucker????? If you do, then count with me here... 1.... , 2....., 3......., Crunch!!!!!!........





I'm not sure how that got on there so quickly.... somebody must have installed it while I was having supper.....

Load temps now @ 32c :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 07:35 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,669

My System Specs

Default

62 to 32? Damn....
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2009, 07:47 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,732

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, I was hitting low 50's under load at stock voltages. That couple of bumps up in Vcore drove it over the 60c mark. These stock coolers aren't the heatpipe ones that used to ship with the black edition AM2s, and really aren't suitable for any extra Vcore, especially when ambient temps are already up there in the summer.

On the plus side.... AM2/AM3 mounting is so easy to do that I'll be able to easily slap the CM cooler on it once it comes in.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; July 19, 2009 at 07:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
720be , 790fx-gd70 , amd , hyper 212 plus , msi , phenom ii

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LANsomnia Redux 2009....New Brunswick LionRed Canadian LAN Parties & Events 6 August 20, 2009 09:25 AM
[FS] FS/WTT Viewsat VS2000 Platinum loath Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 25, 2009 04:04 PM
[WTB] Looking for Radeon X850 XT Platinum Edition lemonlime Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 9, 2008 07:50 AM
MSI X58 Platinum, anyone use it? jak3_dude CPU's and Motherboards 7 December 7, 2008 01:00 PM
Creative Audigy Platinum EX enaberif Off Topic 1 October 23, 2007 03:12 AM