Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 12:22 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default This new Phenom II, or old Q9550

I've been asking alot on the HWC forums, looking for new upgrades, but I just came accross some good deals, resulting in the same price for both builds. Im just looking at RAM, MOTHERBOARDS, AND CPUS. This will be for gaming.

AMD
Antec 1200
Sapphire 4870x2
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750w

Phenom II 940 BE
ASUS M4A79 - Deluxe (DDR2 version)
OCZ Reaper (8GB DDR2) 1066MHz

Intel
Antec 1200
Sapphire 4870x2
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750w

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield
AUS P5Q Pro Turbo
OCZ Reaper (8GB DDR2) 1066MHz

Last edited by AmuseMe; July 9, 2009 at 12:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 01:28 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

I would say...the Q9550..by a nose-hair. The 9550 and PhII 955 run very close, so the C2Q should edge out the 940 in most apps/games.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 02:04 AM
wonton1017's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

Q9550 for sure
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 02:21 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

The 9550 has a 12MB cache, while the rest of the intel line only has a 8MB cache, and the Phenom II 940 - 955 is 8MB as well. Is the 4MB extra that big of a deal? What is the cache?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 02:36 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

It's basically high speed internal memory which is used to store commonly used information/calculations.

This is how I always think of it.... consider how an OS uses motherboard memory to store portions of our apps rather than having to grab it off of the (relatively slower) hard drive every time you need to use them. Accessing the information from RAM rather than from the HDD speeds up the process by leaps and bounds. In laymans' terms, that's how processor cache works.

Does it make a huge difference? That depends on what you're comparing.

If you're comparing the same core (as in a higher end proc from the same line), then my experience has been that cache can make a huge difference. OTOH, you can't look at two completely different cores and say that one will be faster than the other because one has more cache.... the processor's architecture & clockspeed would take presidence.

That said.... just like some men have a preference for certain body parts when looking at a pretty lady, some folks have their own personal preferences when it comes to cache..... (I'm a cache man myself..... :) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 02:52 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmuseMe View Post
The 9550 has a 12MB cache, while the rest of the intel line only has a 8MB cache, and the Phenom II 940 - 955 is 8MB as well. Is the 4MB extra that big of a deal? What is the cache?
The 9550 has a huge shared 12MB L2, and the 940 has a smaller 6MB L3...with 512kb L2/core. The 940 also has the advantage of the IMC...which speeds access to and from the cache and memory...which helps makeup for Intels larger L2. Don't let the specs/numbers fool you..proper benchmarking can show which chip is more effective on which app/game.

Edit: Keep in mind that the PhII chip is adding L3(6MB) and L2(4x512kb) to get a total of 8MB....which sounds more competitve with Intel's 12.

Last edited by 1Tanker; July 9, 2009 at 02:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 03:42 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

The 9550 beats the phenom II 940 at everything according to...

CPU Benchmarks - HardwareCanucks Charts

With that said, should I get the 9550? How much can I overclock this thing?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 04:55 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Well Q 9550 is a pretty overclocker I have never see a PHII Oced by myself so I can't tell you about that. But for my part I'll try to get a AM3 MOBO and CPU so you are futurproof for some years.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 06:20 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

I would Opt for the PII build personally.
With LGA775 comming to its eventual End, at least the PII gives you room in the future.
The IMC on the latest AM3's really gives a good performance boost.
I just did a build with a 955 and its an amazing little monster.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2009, 07:54 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Houston BC
Posts: 414
Default

The 940 isnt AM3 however, You'd have to move up to the 945 or 955.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Phenom 9850 or Phenom II 940 attonbitusira Buy/Sell & Trade 4 May 31, 2009 02:18 PM
[WTB] Q9550 asap Sniper Buy/Sell & Trade 0 April 5, 2009 08:56 AM
[WTB] Q9450 or Q9550 HoTiCE_ Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 7, 2009 07:39 AM
Overclocking my new Q9550 Iamcanadian7 CPU's and Motherboards 10 September 29, 2008 07:59 PM
AMD prepares its Phenom FX, Phenom X4 and Phenom X2 lineups Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 May 4, 2007 07:38 AM