Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 10:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Default Upgrading my gaming rig

Hello there. This is my current rig:

* CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300
* Mobo: GIGABYTE 965P-DS3
* RAM x4: A-DATA 1GB DDRII 800 128Mx8
* HDD: SEAGATE ST3250820AS 250GB + Hitachi 320GB
* GPU: ATI ASUTEK 4870 1GB
* PSU: Fortron Blue Storm 500W ATX12V
* CD/DVD drive: SAMSUNG DVD-/+RW SH-S182D

Some time i got a new GPU. But my CPU kinda bottleneck's it i've heard. I've also been thinking of getting a new 4-core GPU. Also a faster Mobo would probably needed. And ofcourse a new PSU since this one is already 3 years old so i think i could use a new 650W one or something? I don't really know much about hardware...

Right now i have about 6000 eek which is something like 600 dollars. Althought since prices are higher here it could also be something like 500 dollars. Some examples:

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3,0 GHz 12MB 1333MHz FSB 45nm LGA775 is 4300 eek
AMD Phenom II X4 955 3.2GHz BLACK EDITION is 3300 eek
Asus Socket 775 P5QL is 1000 eek
Fortron 600W EPSILON ATX12V with 120mm vent is 1300 eek
CHIEFTEC PSU ATX 700W PFC 14CM BLACK with Cable management CFT-700-14CS is 1150 eek
Tagan Superrock 600W, RoHS is 1300 eek

My choices are limited, but say me a product and i'll tell you if they sell it in my country and for how much it goes..

Sometimes the PSU comes with a case. I'm probably going to build the old computer together from the parts i have left now, but instead of buying the old one a cheap case i can give the current PSU and case to the old and buy a new case that comes with a PSU?

I hope this will make for a pretty good gaming rig. Thanks for everyone who is going to help me build it.

Last edited by Mustkunstn1k; July 5, 2009 at 05:02 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 11:18 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Looks like you want a new cpu, mobo and ram. I would get a new PSU as well. You could get an E8400, 4 gigs of decent ram, decent mobo and psu for about $450-500 dollars easily. You use your PC for gaming mostly?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 11:30 AM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

I say buy a decent aftermarket heat sink and overclock the crap out of that CPU
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 11:33 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Default

JMCD - I do other stuff than play on it, but i would like if it would handle new games too as i play every now and then. Also - do i really need to get RAM? I'm not sure if you noticed, but i have four of those memory sticks. Or is it because the mmeory itself is lousy?

rapmaster - I don't know how to overclock. I would rather get a new CPU...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 11:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Well I would personally prefer 2x2gb for overclocking. It's pretty easy and there are numerous guides around to help. You could try that first on your current pc and see if it gets you what you want. I'm not sure how much you could clock your's, but it'd be worth a shot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 03:59 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

From what I hear about your PSU, it should be enough but not the best and you can probably stick with it for now. In your price range, I'd think your best upgrade path is AMD and stick with your RAM for now. You might want to ask other members about the AMD route since I haven't kept up with the AMD side for a while.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 04:38 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

i say: Gigabyte MA 770 UD3, AMD 720BE, Xigmatek S1283.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 08:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Default

I'd really like if everyone could agree on one thing.

I myself think this:

Q9650 or a AMD that is as good
P5QL
No idea about PSU
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 09:01 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,502

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustkunstn1k View Post
I'd really like if everyone could agree on one thing.
Haha. You might as well ask for a million dollars. The likelyhood of getting everyone to agree about computer choices is about the same as someone giving you a million bucks

If you're set on Intel, get the 9550 instead (250 CAD). With about 10 seconds of bios work you can have it running at faster then 9650 speeds and save yourself quite a bit of cash.

Mobo: Take your pick, there is a ton of s775 mobos for good prices.

Corsair HX750 for PSU, runs about 100 CAD.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 02:23 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Default

They only sell CMPSU-750HXEU for 2400 eek. That's seems too much. My current one still works and it only cost me 500 eek.

What about CHIEFTEC PSU ATX 700W PFC 14CM BLACK with Cable management CFT-700-14CS for 1150.-

Last edited by Mustkunstn1k; July 5, 2009 at 05:03 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading a rig for ~500$ Mustkunstn1k New Builds 16 February 9, 2009 09:28 AM
Upgrading a gaming rig Evylldemon New Builds 7 November 10, 2008 10:09 AM
Future proofing and upgrading rig, Free Beer Inside! D4ng3r New Builds 20 October 23, 2008 08:01 PM
Gaming Rig Herrmoo New Builds 5 August 2, 2008 10:09 AM
Gaming Rig janes780 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 10 January 15, 2008 08:16 PM