Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 09:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Default $843 Gaming Setup

Hey guys, i just ordered this because of the awesome sales ncix has going on, tell me what you think.





I think its a pretty dam good deal :P. Any comments, suggestions? I never built a comp from the ground up, but i have replaced/added some parts in the past.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2009, 09:21 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

Nice, can't really say much about it, Antec 300's becoming a bit dated but for the price it's good. Would have chosen a CM 690 if it were me but to each his own.

Congrats on the new build and post some pics when u done!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 11:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Btw, does anybody know if 600w is enough to SLI 2 GTX 275s? I'm thinking of upgrading later on.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 11:43 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Surabaya, East Java
Posts: 50

My System Specs

Default

do not buy the ocz ps, i think there was a review on that particular ps stating that near full load the psu does not deliver the rated specs. you are better off buying tx750 or something from pc&p
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 11:47 AM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

get at least a quality 750W PSU for GTX275 SLI
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 01:44 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

The TX750 is on for $99 and STOMPS that OCZ into the ground, also does that motherboard fully support the AM3 processors? I havent heard anything about the Nvidia chipsets supporting the new PHIIs, might want to check that out just in case.

Also drop that ram, its way over priced, you can get G.Skills for less without any rebates.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 07:20 PM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

I would be wary of that PSU, also of the motherboard. It might not be compatible with phenom 2's right out of the box, and it might need a bios flash to fix it. And to perform the bios flash, you will need a non-deneb core CPU. Just so your prepared for when the sh*t hits the fan.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2009, 07:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Really? Ncix has confirmed it supported AM2+, and if not i guess i can just refund it. Definitely jumped the gun on the PSU, i guess cause i saw it had a MIR and was apparently SLI ready, but it should last me for awhile, im not planning to SLI yet.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTT] My LGA775 DDR3 setup for your AM2+/AM3 setup Realityshift Buy/Sell & Trade 2 April 12, 2009 06:17 PM
Decent Gaming Setup? matrx New Builds 25 January 1, 2009 09:36 PM
Need a setup ChuckleBrother HTPC Systems & Software 2 August 21, 2008 10:01 PM
WC setup Dark Water Cooling 24 January 14, 2008 06:02 PM
how does this setup look? moditir Water Cooling 24 August 26, 2007 10:41 AM