Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2009, 10:45 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default Finished rig questions

Hello,

I just finished my first build, I have a few questions about it, but I will start by the begining.

While running Prime95, Core temp says my CPU goes up to 59C, Easy Tune says its at 53C. I've got my 2 TriCool running at medium. The room temperature is fairly warm, I wouldn't be surprised if it was more than 25C. The GPU in comparison is at 63C(based on easy Tune).

Are my temps normal ?

Here is my system:

Antec P183
CP-850
Phenom II X4 940
OCZ Vendetta II
Gigabyte MA790x-UD4P
G Skill 2x2gb PC2-6400
WD10EADS
LG GH22NS30
XFX 4890
2x Noctua NF-S12-1200 fans

I plan to overclock a bit, but I would like some advice, suggestions and just opinions on my temps and system.

Thanks a lot.

Edit: btw, its my 1st rig I build.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2009, 10:59 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I would use Rivatuner for your XFX 4890, Core Temp & Everest & CPUID Hardware for your CPU. I'm not sure if they are normal, but when my cpu is stressed, it goes up to ~65 degrees w/ the crappy stock dust clogged cooler.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2009, 11:04 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

I find HWmonitor and everest are two programs that acttally give me the correct temps for my Mobo.
Coretemp doesnt work with my unlocked 720 and the mobo's monitoring software reads the temps 11c under what they are.

@ load I'll hit 55c with 1.4v under water
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2009, 12:54 PM
hossdaddy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 127
Default

compare those reported temps vs what the bios tells you. I realise you cannot do this while stress testing but if its reporting accurately at start up I would assume that its accurate for the rest.
__________________
Main System:
i5 3570k @ 4.6ghz | GA-Z77X-UD3H | Gigabyte GTX 670 | 8gb Redline 1600mhz | CM 690 | Logitech G9x | Mushkin Cronos 120gb ssd | Benq 24" | CM Hyper 212+ | Seasonic 750w | X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser 350 | Razer blackwidow | Win 7 64-bit
Backup System:
AMD X2 7750 BE @ 3.0G | Asus M3A78-CM | 2x2gig 800mhz 4-4-4-12 | SB LIVE | Samsung 22" | Asus 9800gt | Antec NEO 620w | Logitech G5 | ThermalTake Matrix | Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2009, 02:30 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Sorry to bring this back up but my interogations have not been answer yet and my questions remain.

Are my temps normal ?

I am not too worried about the GPU because I don't see what I could have done wrong. It runs about 6 degrees hotter than the XFX 4890 XT tested on an open bench at HWC, but my room is surely warmer and I am in a case.

However, the CPU, idling at 39-40 degrees seems a bit warm considering I am using an OCZ Vendetta CPU cooler(I have upped the multiplier to x17). Under 100% load, it gets to 57 degrees with my tri-cool at medium. I used the thermal paste that came with the cooler even if I know its not the best... I am wondering if its normal or if there is a problem user related.
And no, I am not having any problems what so ever with my computer, would just like to make sure I have done everything properly. Applying thermal paste is by far the thing I felt the most uncomfortable with.

Last edited by Kilauea; July 1, 2009 at 03:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2009, 05:40 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Thats probubly about normal id say, the GPU just needs a bit of a fan speed tweak to lower the temps, that CPU should be good at where its at especially if its in a warm room. Its a tad warm but my E8400 idles at 40c per core and hits 55c when stressed, It could be that your CPU heatsink isnt set right or you didnt apply thermal paste correctly, but I wouldnt be alarmed by the temps, it is a quadcore afterall.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2009, 08:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Any idea on how I would know if I did not applied the thermal paste properly ?

Also, what is your GPU temperature, so I can compare on something that actually has information about.
Or, I am also looking for information about the X4 940's temperature.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2009, 12:26 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Well my GTX 260 idles at 40c and loads at between 60 and 70c depending on room temps, I cant help you with the CPU temps youll have to just search some reviews or wait for someone who has one to apear. Youll know the paste or HSF isnt installed propperly when you have unusually high temps.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2009, 09:05 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

Those temps are kinda high for a 940BE. I had one on air for a little while and it never got that hot with stock Vcore and stock multi.
For the deneb core, it is recommended to keep temps under 60C, so as long as it maxes out at 55C at load you should be fine.

How did you apply the thermal paste? How many fans have you got on your noctua? is it seated correctly?

Something's up, I'll tell you that. And I'm going to try to help you figure out what it is.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 09:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

Sorry if it took a lot of time for me to reply. Thanks a lot for the offer Cowboy, I appreciate it.

Today I reseated the heatsink in the case. I used Isopropyl to clean the thermal paste and I reapplied it, made sure to fill the gaps and I applied a thin layer and I spread it with a card.

After that the temperatures were: 37 at idle and 49-50 when running Prime 95.
I also lowered to stock speed and the temperature was 29-30.

The room temperature was also a bit lower today I think.

The set up in the case is 2 Noctua NF-S12-1200 set as intake fans, 2 Antec tri-cool as exhaust, they are set to run on medium. The OCZ Vendetta II's pushes the air towards the top of the case, its placed almost directly under the top tri-cool.

One thing I have been considering is to either add or move my lowest Noctua to the top of the case, but for that I would have to do the "assembly" myself.

What are your temps Cowboy ? What is your setup ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st build gaming rig questions aviduser New Builds 5 February 9, 2009 11:33 AM
Basic questions for a 4870 rig Bucklaz New Builds 13 December 27, 2008 12:02 AM
Questions on my new rig. xile042 New Builds 5 December 11, 2008 09:20 AM
New rig finally finished ... for now NyteOwl Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 8 September 3, 2008 08:37 PM
never finished flybye Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 1 September 11, 2007 10:42 AM