Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 05:10 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,598

My System Specs

Default

The TX650W is a very good choice.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 05:18 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

Just remember when you do put it all together is to not have it on a static building service (such as a carpet, a wood table is great) and make sure you are grounded yourself as to not accidently cause a shock to one of your components that basically makes it worth as much being a DD without a vehicle
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 05:25 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

The TX650 will have no trouble at all reaching from the bottom of a case to anywhere on your motherboard through the CM690/590 motherboard tray hole, those psus come with LONG cables, VERY long ones. With the system your building a VX550 would do, your building a very low power system that will at most draw 325w or so at 100% load. you could SLI 9800GTs on a 650w with ease, might even be able to SLI GTS 250s with a 650w I know when I was running dual 9800GTXs my TX750 was bairly heating up and I knew I had quite a bit more headroom. 1kw is WAY overkill, unless your looking to run dual GTX 295s in the near future.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 06:41 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

So now itt's the final time, Get all the piece your where looking for get the western caviar 640 and the G.skill ram and you will have a budget rig wich blow heads up, Buy from NCIX and don't DON'T forget to pricematch. Have fun building this and ask if you ever need help and advise for assembling we are here for this;)

Ask for more
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 06:47 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

If you do order everything from NCIX, you can have them build/test/benchmark your system for an extra 50$ if you are worried about putting it all together yourself
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 04:48 AM
amg amg is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks everyone you have been a great help. I think I have all the pieces picked out now. Last question on the OS, do I need the retail 32/64 package or can I just go straight to the 64 OEM. For some reason I am confused on that. box says needs vista OS but a post I read somewhere said that the OEM was the full deal.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 06:43 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

OEM will work fine for you, if you didn't have an OS or didn't want to buy one right now, you could download/get Windows 7 RC for free from microsoft
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 10, 2009, 02:42 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

OEM means you only get 1 install on 1 motherboard, the retail allows multiple installs on multiple motherboards, I say motherboards because its the 1 part that you cannot change on OEM installs without vista haulting to work. with OEM you can call microsoft and have them reset your key though, just tell them that your old motherboard failed and the new one was the closest you could get.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 04:30 PM
amg amg is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 8
Default

That clears that up for me thanks!

Ok just a few more questions: If I went with that Beta case do I really need 2 more fans on the side? It comes with 2 to start right? And if I do need to get a few more fans, any suggestions? Or maybe I should just get that 902 I was eyeballing... Oh and what about this one? Coolermaster Storm Scout Black ATX Tower Case 5X5.25 5X3.5INT 120MM & 140MM Red LED Fan No PSU - DirectCanada

And what is the difference between a heat sink and a silent pipe? Was looking at the other motherboards and some have that.

Last edited by amg; June 11, 2009 at 04:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time builder, 500$ budget PC rapmaster New Builds 34 March 9, 2009 08:14 AM
Time for more hardware! MacJunky New Builds 7 October 29, 2008 07:43 PM
First Time Computer Builder Looking for Help on $1500 Rig Wein13 New Builds 20 September 9, 2008 07:35 AM
Time to Upgrade Again Beermaster CPU's and Motherboards 2 April 23, 2008 09:25 AM
Movie Time! Prof. Dr. Silver Off Topic 5 March 20, 2008 11:38 PM