Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2009, 04:50 PM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 465
Default Need Help with New i7 Overclock Build

I was going to post this in the overclocks...but I do not have the build yet

I need some help...I was all decided on the following -

EVGA X58 Classified
920D0 -SLBEJ-
Corsair XMS3 Dominator GT TR3X6G1866C7GTF
Corsair HX1000W CMPSU-1000HX

Problem is I wanted the Classified 759 version, seems it isn't available...760 or 761 now? It seems a few forums I have read on these Classified boards...die a lot? Scares me.
I hear the Asus P6T6 WS is pretty good also. I want to run a high 24/7 OC with the Phase Cooling.

CPU and Power supply are decided...just need options/input on the MB and Ram. Crossfire will be going in the system.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2009, 05:23 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

i think the classified is a waste of money jmo. very happy with my gigabyte ds4. go gigabyte and some g.skill ram
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2009, 07:00 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
i think the classified is a waste of money jmo. very happy with my gigabyte ds4. go gigabyte and some g.skill ram

+1, get the UD4P or UD5 depend on your needs
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2009, 08:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 13
Default

+1 for Gigabyte or Asus.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 12:37 AM
FtGF's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 410

My System Specs

Default

I think one of the possibilities some of these are dying is due to the fact that a good percentage of these are going to extreme overclockers driving these boards hard. But also the EVGA crowd is quite vocal and you will hear about every DOA board on their forums.

You just have to look at how you plan to use it. If you are planning on hardcore OC than I think you would find few people who would disagree that the classified is by far the best X58 board period not to mention sexiest! But if you are looking at value than the classified drops down the list quite fast.
__________________
Fight the Good Fight


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 06:06 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 465
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
i think the classified is a waste of money jmo. very happy with my gigabyte ds4. go gigabyte and some g.skill ram
I am thinking of a 24/7 overclock @4.2GHz. I would like to play around...push it to 4.4-4.6GHz... if that is within reach or is that just a pipe dream? The MB you suggest Ginger...are they able to get into those clock speeds? I am a Gigabyte user....and kinda ticked at Asus atm (went through 3 P5B Deluxes). You have no problem convincing me to use Gigabyte....and I would be open to Asus.

I am already thinking water cooling the two 4870's I have... if I cut back on the cost of ram and MB.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 07:13 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 465
Default

OK guys...you have convinced me to back off on the waste of money (got my head back).

How does this look....I wanted to spend a little extra on the MB.

Intel 920 D0 -SLBEJ- $347.06
Gigabyte EX58-UD5 - $330.16
OCZ OCZ3RPR1866C9LV6GK Ram $123.60
Enermax ERV1050EWT REVOLUTION85+ 1050W $277.56

Total- $1081.47

Any problems with that MB and Ram match? I have a TX750W Corsair PS...but I worry I am at the edge of what it can handle..when I start OC'n an i7 and have two 4870's.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 07:22 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,022
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
i think the classified is a waste of money jmo. very happy with my gigabyte ds4. go gigabyte and some g.skill ram
Which set?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 07:30 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Default

A question, and a comment.

?: do you still wish to run a phase change 24/7. If so, which model.
Comment: take a look at my Main in sig, and you'll see what the TX750W can handle.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2009, 07:45 AM
LionRed's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Dargaville, New Zealand
Posts: 465
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
A question, and a comment.

?: do you still wish to run a phase change 24/7. If so, which model.
Comment: take a look at my Main in sig, and you'll see what the TX750W can handle.
Thnks Charle...that is good to know about the PS...you may have just saved me a couple hundred. What if ever decide to got triple crossfire? Think the 750 will handle that?

Phase Change unit ...I got off Ebay
I think Phase Change units at 110-120V are going to be harder to get/buy from a company. I think the company that makes the VapoChill LS...are not making them anymore.
__________________
Choo Choo bitches, progress coming through.

They say you can tell how rich a man's life has been, by how many dogs he has had in it.

RIP Kiwi - Oct 19th/05 - April 18th/11, you will always be our puppy

Last edited by LionRed; May 31, 2009 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My First Overclock Cardboard box with DSL Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 April 11, 2012 05:11 PM
Help overclock Kappy Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 September 2, 2008 01:58 PM
overclock evzonas CPU's and Motherboards 2 August 31, 2008 04:49 PM
24/7 Overclock? bushwickbill Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 August 25, 2007 04:32 PM
Well I got one, now how do I overclock it? Supergrover Off Topic 11 May 1, 2007 02:30 PM