Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 01:35 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default AMD Build

I considering doing an AMD in the very near future but I'm not sure on what motherboard to get. I'm trading a guy straight up for his 4870 1 GB with my GTX 260, but beyond that I haven't nailed down any parts. Keep in mind that this is a semi-budget build. I'm going to use my case, RAM, CPU cooler, and HDD's from my old build, but need pretty much everything else.

What I'm considering is the following:
Phenom II 940
2x 4870 1 GB (This component is a for sure)
Corsair TX 650 Watt
Crossfire mobo with good overclocking, at least the 780 chipset - would prefer 790 (I have no idea on this component)

Thoughts?

I'm definitely going AM2+ in interest of saving money. I want cheap but quality components (I love the Gigabyte board I have right now, but would be willing to by another company so long as the board is reliable, and has decent overclocking)


Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 01:39 PM
Junglebizz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 51
Default

What IS the stuff you are keeping from your current build?
__________________
AMD Phenom II X3 720BE 2.8GHz || Sunbeam CCTF
G.Skill Pi 2 x 2GB PC-8500 5-5-5-15 || Corsair TX850w
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P || Coolermaster Centurion 534
BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC || Crucial M4 C400 128GB SSD
WD WD6401AALS 640GB x2 || Western Digital Caviar Green 1.5TB
LG L203WT 20.1" LCD || LiteOn 16x DVD+RW DL
Overclock: 3588 MHz @ 1.475v (17.5x205), 2255 CPU-NB @ 1.275v, 2050 HTT, 5-5-5-15-25-2T - 1093 @ 2.1v || GTX 280 @ 635/2302/1391

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 01:40 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

The system looks good so far, should OC nicely with the P2 940.

For crossfire I'd definitely recommend "splurging" and getting a 790fx board, any other chipset and your second PCIe x16 slot will only run at 8x in crossfire mode, reducing performance some.

i'd also suggest bumping that power supply up a notch to the 750/850tx, especially if you are going to OC the system.

Need any more ideas? hehe.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 01:54 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junglebizz View Post
What IS the stuff you are keeping from your current build?
4 GB's of Corsiar 800 Mhz DDR2
Crappy Cooler Master Case (it was free and it works)
Seagate 160 GB Barracuda + 80 GB Barracuda (I got one for free and the other for $30)

I can't seem to find the connectors for my CPU Cooler for AM2+ so I may get the OCZ Vendetta 2


As for the power supply. I was thinking that I would need a 750 watt, but Corsair websites tells me that a computer with a Phenom II, 4870x2, 2 Harddrives, and an "extreme CPU overclock" (greater then 30%, which I doubt I'd go that far) could run on an HX 620 or 750 or the TX 650 or 750. I respect experience over a website chart though so do you think I'd really need the 750 watt?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 01:59 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Hmmm, maybe you shouldn't ask me then... its always open to opinion... I personally always prefer the "better safe than sorry" motto and im glad I used that motto when building Behemoth (signature). I was going to go with a 1000w PSU for the system, when everything was hooked up, my system was pulling 900-something watts from the wall (measured with a kill-a-watt) so I decided to bump up a notch to be safe. All that to say - its up to your personal preference.

One other thing I think of is this: Would you rather draw 80-90% of a PSUs maximum power on a regular basis, or something like 60-70%? I'd prefer the latter, which would keep the psu cooler and quieter, and make it last longer.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 02:08 PM
Junglebizz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
One other thing I think of is this: Would you rather draw 80-90% of a PSUs maximum power on a regular basis, or something like 60-70%? I'd prefer the latter, which would keep the psu cooler and quieter, and make it last longer.
Sage advice right there!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X3 720BE 2.8GHz || Sunbeam CCTF
G.Skill Pi 2 x 2GB PC-8500 5-5-5-15 || Corsair TX850w
Gigabyte GA-MA790X-UD4P || Coolermaster Centurion 534
BFG GeForce GTX 280 OC || Crucial M4 C400 128GB SSD
WD WD6401AALS 640GB x2 || Western Digital Caviar Green 1.5TB
LG L203WT 20.1" LCD || LiteOn 16x DVD+RW DL
Overclock: 3588 MHz @ 1.475v (17.5x205), 2255 CPU-NB @ 1.275v, 2050 HTT, 5-5-5-15-25-2T - 1093 @ 2.1v || GTX 280 @ 635/2302/1391

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 03:19 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Junglebizz View Post
Sage advice right there!
agreed,

thanks for the advice. I'll be going with the TX 750 watt.


as for the mobo: would this be a good one?

Is the 790Gx better the FX? or is it the other way around?

Last edited by SneakySnake; May 28, 2009 at 03:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 04:36 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

FX is better than GX but this is a FX with SB600, get one with SB750
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 05:41 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 292

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rapmaster View Post
FX is better than GX but this is a FX with SB600, get one with SB750
Sorry, I'm not sure what that means. What exactly is different from a SB750 and 600 one?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2009, 07:00 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

SB750 has direct communication with the processor to allow for better overclocking via amd's ACC (advanced clock calibration) tool. Definitely get a board that has that if you want to OC.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD build $2000 bumfloss New Builds 6 May 13, 2009 06:26 AM
what RAM and GPU for AMD build? stingo99 New Builds 9 May 10, 2009 06:53 PM
AMD Phenom II Build - $1500.00 gamer/multimedia smacc New Builds 15 April 3, 2009 05:35 PM
AMD Gaming Build DragonFlame New Builds 13 February 23, 2009 07:33 PM
Build for friend AMD or Intel Balfrat New Builds 4 January 23, 2009 07:08 PM