Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 12:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default what RAM and GPU for AMD build?

I'm looking at doing an AMD build using the Phenom II 720. It'll mainly be for FPS gaming and surfing, downloading. Everything to be stock. Should I go for DDR2 or DDR3 RAM?...interested in the futureproof aspect, as opposed to the price differences. As well, I understand that it may be better to get an ATI GPU (looking at a 4870 or 4890) instead of NVDIA (either a 275 or 260/216 core)....any comments on why ATI may be better, or does it make much of a difference?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 12:47 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

I'd say go with an AM3 board, as the same should happen i nthe future as now...next AMD socket should have cpus back-wards compatible. When future cpus come out, you'll have a better chance at getting a cheaper upgrade with AM3.

ATI gpus may be a better fit as they are together part of a platform. The Dragon platform; AM3 and "RV770/RV790"; seem fairly decent, given the cost of i7, and Sli.

I'm going the same route..already have a 720BE, but no board...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 01:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks Cadaveca....the AM3 was what I was leaning toward, despite the slightly higher cost of DDR3, plus there doesn't seem to be a lot of AM3 boards out there, especially if you are just looking at Asus or Gigabyte. Don't hesitate to let me know what kind of board you're looking at.

I also heard that an ATI GPU is more "compatible" with AMD, but still not sure in what way....does it just generally make things run smoother, fewer potential technical glitches?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 01:11 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

No, there is no real benefit by going with a complete platform, at this point, as far as I am concerned...

I'm looking at the gigabyte 790FX-UD5P, because I use pci-e sound cards, as well as multiple vgas, but I'm also keen on running three vgas, not just two, and no board currently offers room for 3 vgas and a pci-e soundcard. So I'm in no rush.

DDR3 isn't really all that expensive any more...especially the dual-channel kits.


I recently had some serious hardware failure that left me with just a p35 board, and an E8400, as well as just a single vga. I've not overclocked a thing...i tried, but didn't get what I wanted out of it...

So I know for sure now that I'm not in much of a rush...there's only minimal performance gains to be had for me, so at this point, I'm picking my parts based on warranty, and color. I'll build a "pretty" pc this time, and put having the best money can buy on the backburner.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 01:30 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

There is no more compatibilities, these are rumor. I'd go for AM3 me to because of time factor. If you want more in 2 or 3 years you can get a phenom 2 X4 955 (if always exist ) for cheap in 2 years so is betteer choice. A platform is only the add of some piece like Intel Santa-rosa for Intel powered Notebook wich have centrino + turbo memory + Draft N wifi.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 03:01 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

I agree with cadaveca, if you can find a good cheap DDR3 dual channel kit then it will give you alot more flexability in the future and they have come down quite a bit recently. Also if your going AMD I would also stick to ATI cards as Nvidia isnt as well supported on the AMD side, their SLI solutions are horible right now and I am a big supporter of multi GPU motherboards. Just grab a good 790x/GX motherboard with 2 x16 PCI-E lanes and a 4890 or even a couple 4870s and you should see some great fps in games for atleast the next 6 months to a year or so, beyond that it gets pretty fuzzy though =(
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 03:36 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,629

My System Specs

Default

First off, both ATI and NVIDIA GPUs will work like they're supposed to in ATI or NVIDIA chipset motherboards. HOWEVER, if you decide to go SLI/Crossfire, then ATI GPUs work with only ATI chipsets and NVIDIA GPUs will only work with NVIDIA chipsets.

I prefer to go DDR2 over DDR3. DDR2 is cheaper too.

What's your budget and gaming resolution? If it's at 1680X1050, I suggest a 9800GTX+ (GTS250) or ATI 4770. If you're going to game at a higher resolution, then get a ATI 4870 or NVIDIA GTX260-216.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2009, 07:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default

I'll probably go 1680x1050 resolution and will be okay for mid-high settings. I'd prefer to stick with a single GPU. My budget will hopefully be $1,300 max with taxes in (including needing a new monitor). I think it's possible to go DDR3 RAM and get a either a 4870 or a 260/216 core GPU)...may even push for a 4890 or 275 if there's a slight decrease in overall prices by June/July.

Everyone's input is much appreciated....thanks so much!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2009, 07:49 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

No problem...and when you're ready to buy, toss up your chosen parts in the thread...chances are, someone here may be aware of a deal that could save you a few bucks, or if they are any hardware issues, we may have already dealt with them.


$1300 is a decent budget for 1680x1050...really. I'm sure you'll have no issues pieceing together a decent system.




Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 10, 2009, 06:53 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

I'd vote to get yourself a X4 810 or 910 for your Chip.
I just got an 810, and it so far is a dream chip.
Plus, for single graphics solution, it works just fine with my GTS250.

My thoughts at least, I am actually very pleased with my AM3 build.


ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] CPU/Mobo/Ram/GPU Koslov Buy/Sell & Trade 2 March 16, 2009 06:22 PM
AMD GPU Clock Tool 0.9.8 Available MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 7, 2008 06:50 PM
a couple of issues [ram & GPU] Psycho-Designs Troubleshooting 5 May 2, 2008 06:20 AM
AMD says GPU physics is dead until DirectX 11 Shadowmeph Press Releases & Tech News 12 November 26, 2007 05:53 PM
AMD GPU Clock Tool v0.7 released Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 2 May 4, 2007 02:35 PM