Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2009, 05:53 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default WIn XP to boost Gaming?

Hi, right now i'm using WIn Vista Ultimate for gaming, but i'm running out of HD space.
So i'm wondering if i should do a clean install and use WIn XP instead?

System specs below
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2009, 05:58 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
Hi, right now i'm using WIn Vista Ultimate for gaming, but i'm running out of HD space.
So i'm wondering if i should do a clean install and use WIn XP instead?

System specs below
well you could but I don't see why you would want to if Vista is working I would just remove anything you don't want and clean up everything
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2009, 06:01 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

but there is so much crap in it tho... and will i see any increase in FPS like GRID, COH, Far Cry 2 etc...
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2009, 06:41 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

You need to get an external if you are running out of room on a 320gb hard drive, I was running vista on a similar system with a 320gb and with decent house keeping it never went bellow %50 free space. That being said you may see a framerate boost though it would be small, mostly its going to come from the fact that you can only run those games as dx9 on xp.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2009, 07:14 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 486
Default

I'm using win 7 64 and xp pro 64, win 7 is better on the game end for me. Vista I have no idea never used it and no need to. With the games u listed depending on what res, aa and af u play at the 9600gt could be the weakest link as far as fps. Also I understand vista likes more than 2GB of ram. A gts 250 1GB would get u more fps with that x2 5200 also tighten up the ram timings if u can cl4 preferably.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2009, 09:34 PM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

buy another hdd... move crap to other hdd. XP only uses 3gigs of ram btw... it does however run games flawlessly.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2009, 09:39 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,638
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HaDeS View Post
buy another hdd... move crap to other hdd. XP only uses 3gigs of ram btw... it does however run games flawlessly.
XP 32bit only uses 3 and a bit
XP x64 will use all of it just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2009, 10:15 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

I really doubt its a ram issue though, I have run vista 32 bit and it ran fine with 2gb of ram on an x2 5000 with a 9800GTX+, my biggest sudgestion is to drop the 9600gt if your looking for frame rates and clean up your hard drive and registry. A defrag might help to.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 25, 2009, 11:30 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Practically speaking, some beer-money will double your memory, which Vista will happily take advantage of. And you can grab yourself a 500 gig harddrive for less than an external or a legit OS copy. And usually when you've cluttered up a hard drive, it's time to think hard about doing a reinstall, just to de-crappify your system from all the stuff that builds up over time.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 12:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,508

My System Specs

Default

Majority of games do run better on XP. I suggest an nLite XP install, but that's just my opinion.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win XP or Vista for Gaming New Build? Awk76 New Builds 45 March 14, 2009 04:33 PM
Has Anyone Tried Ready Boost? norfolk RAM 5 February 9, 2009 06:08 PM
FS: In-Win Metal Suit GD Mid Tower Gaming Case *NEW Spawne32 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 June 15, 2008 03:12 PM
I wonder if this works with Ready Boost... Cardboard box with DSL O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 July 1, 2007 01:11 AM
SuperTalent Ready Boost drive Scratch Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 11, 2007 01:16 PM