Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 11:12 AM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

Actually, GTX260 is like $80 more than the HD4850. Get the GTX260 and start Folding with HWC so you can add it to your multitasking experience.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 02:57 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,881

My System Specs

Default

Personally I believe ATI GPUs run better on the AMD platform. Like look at the 3DMark world record, Phenom II w/ HD4870Xs...

And well you always have the option to run Crossfire as well.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 03:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Default

You can't go wrong either way IMO. I have a E5200 OC'd to 3.6, runs great. But a 720BE could mean you could luck out and unlock that extra core. If you have the cash, go for it.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2009, 03:47 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

GTX 260 sp 216 would STOMP a 4850 it out performs the 4870s as well so id go with that. on the otherhand if you want to go multigpu down the road a 4870/4850 would allow for crossfire and 2 4850s in crossfire are a force to be recond with as is 2x 4870s.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 09:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lake Cowichan, B.C.
Posts: 218

My System Specs

Default

I don't think AMD AM3 or AM2+ mobo's accept nvidia Graphics card. Just ATI Graphics cards will work.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 09:34 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grifter11 View Post
I don't think AMD AM3 or AM2+ mobo's accept nvidia Graphics card. Just ATI Graphics cards will work.
Nvidia cards work fine in AMD mobo's. It's only when you want to SLI them do you need to check if the motherboard is SLI capable.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 09:36 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grifter11 View Post
I don't think AMD AM3 or AM2+ mobo's accept nvidia Graphics card. Just ATI Graphics cards will work.
Where'd you get that thought? All GPUs work no matter what motherboard you got. It's only the SLI or Crossfire technology that may not work since it depends on the chipset.

@OP. Go AMD and get the Phenom II X3 over a E7400. I'd stay with DDR2 since it's much cheaper than DDR3. For the GPU, look into the ATI 4850 or NVIDIA GTS250.

Oh, ditch Windows Vista Premium and just download Windows 7 RC. You won't regret it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 11:19 PM
Evylldemon's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 158

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
Where'd you get that thought? All GPUs work no matter what motherboard you got. It's only the SLI or Crossfire technology that may not work since it depends on the chipset.

@OP. Go AMD and get the Phenom II X3 over a E7400. I'd stay with DDR2 since it's much cheaper than DDR3. For the GPU, look into the ATI 4850 or NVIDIA GTS250.

Oh, ditch Windows Vista Premium and just download Windows 7 RC. You won't regret it.

+1

I pretty much just did exactly that. X3 720 + GA-MA770-UD3 + GTX 260 Core 216.

The DDR2 isnt that much cheaper but the price difference could make up the difference between a 260 and a 4850/250 if you find a good price (got a SC version for 180 AR).

And definitely get the Windows 7 RC. It's a free OS for another ~9 months and you never have to buy Vista. Hell if you own XP already you can get an upgrade version of 7 for even cheaper down the road.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2009, 12:14 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Sorry for the late responses to all your suggestions but thought the April post would be "deadish" by now....lol. Here's what I ended up doing:

- Phenom II 720
- Corsair 750TX - maybe a bit of overkill, but okay if I want to upgrade
- WD Black Caviar 640
- MSI 790GX-65 motherboard (AMD 3) - had a great bundle deal at NCIX with the CPU so I couldn't pass it up
- EVGA GTX 275 - I won't be able to SLI, but only wanted one GPU anyway. It's absolutely compatible with the motherboard.
- CoolerMaster 690 case - lots of room for the honkin' big GPU and good airflow...GPU temps are 43F idle and 65 loaded
- running Windows XP 64 bit in one partition and Windows 7 RC in the other....so far, no problems with either

Thanks again everyone for your comments and suggestions!!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New COD4 Map Pack en route Babrbarossa Gaming 1 March 25, 2008 10:29 AM