Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 05:35 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default Noob RAM support question

SO, the RAM I wanted to get (Newegg.ca - Kingston HyperX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory) but it is not on the support list of the motherboard I want to get: http://europe.asrock.com/mb/memory/A780LM.pdf.

Normally I would simply get different RAM however the 2gb version (1x1gb) is supported: KHX8500D2K2/2GN

The kit I wish to get is KHX8500D2K2/4G. Will this work as it was simply omited or would it be a gamble, or simply not work??

TIA!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 05:37 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

What is it your trying to accomplish?

Personally with that board I'd be looking at corsair xms2 or g.skill memory.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 05:46 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

I'm trying to accomplish the cheapest 4GB of 1066 I can get.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 06:05 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clone63 View Post
I'm trying to accomplish the cheapest 4GB of 1066 I can get.
Is there a reason your looking for 1066 memory? It provides little to no benefit if you plan to overclock.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 06:15 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

I don't have big plans for overclocking, and know little of how it is done. Read mostly about CPU OC', not other components.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 06:19 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clone63 View Post
I don't have big plans for overclocking, and know little of how it is done. Read mostly about CPU OC', not other components.
Then pick up some G.Skill PC2-8000 and spend about $65-70 and call it a day.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 07:07 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Yeah thats pretty much where I would stand, that or Like Enaberif Said the xms2.
Motherboard RAM Support lists don't mean Anything really to me.
My DG35EC doesn't have Dominator Listed on what the board supports.
But, I have that running in it right now.
My Gigabyte board Doesn't List Mushkin, but it will work with it.
There are too many RAM Combinations out there that Suppliers cannot cover them all.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 11:43 AM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

Alright, thanks for the info
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 07:37 AM
hossdaddy's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 127
Default

kingston is on almost every motherboard qvl for ram. Get it and you will not be disappointed.
__________________
Main System:
i5 3570k @ 4.6ghz | GA-Z77X-UD3H | Gigabyte GTX 670 | 8gb Redline 1600mhz | CM 690 | Logitech G9x | Mushkin Cronos 120gb ssd | Benq 24" | CM Hyper 212+ | Seasonic 750w | X-Fi Titanium | Sennheiser 350 | Razer blackwidow | Win 7 64-bit
Backup System:
AMD X2 7750 BE @ 3.0G | Asus M3A78-CM | 2x2gig 800mhz 4-4-4-12 | SB LIVE | Samsung 22" | Asus 9800gt | Antec NEO 620w | Logitech G5 | ThermalTake Matrix | Arctic Cooling Freezer 64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Noob mATX question! Delavan Cases 7 March 19, 2009 05:51 PM
Noob question... shayan288 RAM 1 January 8, 2009 03:13 PM
Noob question: is there a program that tells ram temp? Gameplaywarrior RAM 19 December 3, 2008 12:55 PM
RAM... A Noob Question Hail Ceasar RAM 11 December 1, 2008 06:51 PM
Noob Overclock Question Phaddie Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 November 4, 2008 11:02 PM