Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 07:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Default media server build?

Hi, i was wondering if someone could maybe help me and build me a cheap media server which i could use to watch movies and play music on? I would like it to be able to play 1080p content without stuttering and also have HDMI output. I would also like it to have around 500GB+ of space so that i can fit HD content on it. My budget is around 400$ so if someone could help me make a build around that price or less it would be great!.


Sorry to ask but i am new at building these custom PC's so i would like some help if possible . Also i live in canada so please use either newegg.ca or nicx.com.


Thanks, help would be appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 07:39 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

You might want more than 500GB
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 08:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Default

ya i kinda thought about that after....1TB would be nice i guess =) or maybe 750GB since bluray/mkvs get pretty big in size these days.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 08:25 AM
HaDeS
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well my 2cents. There's not much difference in picture quality between 720 and 1080p... there is however a big difference in the size if the files. You're gonna want a 2hdd setup for sure because Media Center can and will fail after a while take it from me... losing media sucks balls. I also think 400 bucks is a little on the low side unless you plan on buying used. I can purchase a computer as low as 300 bucks which is a dual core 3800+ w/ 1gig of ram. 1 small HDD etc. The vid card it comes with would need to be updated as its onboard.
80+ tax AMD Athlon™ X2 5000

20+ tax Kingston ValueRAM 1GB PC2-5300 DDR2 SDRAM

70+ tax Gigabyte GA-M61P-S3 w/ Geforce 6100, DualDDR2 800, 7.1 Audio, Gigabit Lan, 1394, PCI-E x16

58+ tax Corsair CMPSU-400CX 400 Watt w/ 120mm Fan

80+ tax Sapphire Radeon HD4550 512MB Passive Cooling PCI-E w/ Dual DVI, HDTV-Out, HDMI

55+ tax Western Digital 250GB Caviar Blue 7200rpm SATA II w/ 16MB Cache

135+ tax Western Digital 1TB Caviar Black 7200rpm SATA II w/ 32MB Cache

With the TB drive this is probably the only one I'd choose.... if you get something too slow and its full of movies etc... you'll be sitting in front of your tv for a few minutes waiting for the movies to load up before you even start watching something.

That system above is 525 beans tax in. I'm assuming you have an extra cdrom drive somewhere and you still need a case.... of course i use memory express for computer gear and thir list is pretty short so there isn't alot of older stuff on their site like ncix might have. That system will run everything however... if you kick back to ddr 400mhz you might have some lag issues. The mobo does 5.1 just fine as well.

Hope that helps.

Last edited by HaDeS; April 14, 2009 at 08:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 02:24 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

Any chance you can up your budget, OP?
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 02:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Default

NCIX.com - Buy Acer Aspire Easystore H340 Home Server Intel Atom 2GB 1TB GBLAN 4 Bay Hotswap Windows Home Server - PG.T170W.007 In Canada.

It's above your price range and it won't play any content on its own, but if you have a laptop or a x360/PS3 you can just stream content to that.

I don't think you will get a 2TB storage solution for much less than this without using linux.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 02:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 64
Default

give me a bit guys, i am looking over the above suggestions, ill get back to you in a bit. And yes i do have a PS3 which i would like to be able to stream to. And ya i am fine with 720p =)...thts what most of my files are anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 10:12 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

I have an awesome, evil idea for you then. How about just shoving a 500 giger 2.5" HDD in your PS3? You do know that their HDD's are interchangable with standard 2.5" form factor hard drives, right? Just look up the simple step by step guide on Sony's site or something.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 10:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Gruntsworthy View Post
I have an awesome, evil idea for you then. How about just shoving a 500 giger 2.5" HDD in your PS3? You do know that their HDD's are interchangable with standard 2.5" form factor hard drives, right? Just look up the simple step by step guide on Sony's site or something.
Or just use an external HDD for that matter. Really just using the PS3 should be fine if all you want is to play music and movies on an HDTV, heck you can even get a wireless kb/m to plug into it as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2009, 08:38 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

except that if he has MKV's they won't play natively on a PS3 as the PS3 doesn't support it. If you have a budget of $400 bucks get a popcornhour then just stream it from your desktop pc or install a HDD in it if you like. I have one. and it works marvelously. once you add in shipping, exchange and import fees it comes out around your budget.

Welcome To Popcorn Hour

i think ncix also sells them but their stock is extremely limited. When i bought my a couple of years ago it took 6-8 weeks to come to me and cost me around 280 - $300 for it.

Other wise if you want to use the PS3 you will need to either convert the mkv's to a format the ps3 supports or use something like ps3 media server or tvversity to transcode it.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtualization Test Server Build - Musings & Observations kingnubian New Builds 2 March 28, 2009 06:23 PM
3 Builds - WHS Media Server and 2 Mini ITX HTPC's - Thoughts needed Shftup New Builds 14 March 21, 2009 08:35 AM
dual xeon server build elninio New Builds 3 January 16, 2009 12:49 PM
[FS] HTPC KIT PVR1600, OFFICIAL MS Media Center Remote/keyboard + XP media Center 2005 b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 10 January 9, 2009 04:00 PM
server build Scratch CPU's and Motherboards 0 March 6, 2008 12:44 AM