Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 08:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 196
Default cant plug in front panel usb and firewire?

just want to make sure on the p6t deluxe mobo when using to video cards blue and white slots you cant plug in the front panel usb and firewires.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 09:16 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
just want to make sure on the p6t deluxe mobo when using to video cards blue and white slots you cant plug in the front panel usb and firewires.
Really....?......no?!........if so glad I didn't go with that design!!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 09:32 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 618

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by go flames go View Post
just want to make sure on the p6t deluxe mobo when using to video cards blue and white slots you cant plug in the front panel usb and firewires.
Are the headers circled in this pic?



If so, why would you not be able to hook them up to the front ports?
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 09:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 196
Default

cause the gtx 295 in the white slot blocks it... :C
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 09:44 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 618

My System Specs

Default

I would think that you would be able to connect the front panel connectors first then install the GTX 295. I think all that would happen is the shroud would push down on the already connected headers... just don't use the Asus easy connect thingies.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 7, 2009, 09:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 196
Default

nope ardy tried wont work QQ phoning asus tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2009, 09:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 196
Default

nvm! problem fixed i diddnt push in the headers hard enough once they go all the way down the cards fit no problemos!!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2009, 10:06 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

I was wondering what was going on with this, most Tri SLI boards have headers in the same location vs bottom PCIe slot and ive never had troubles with the headers even with dual slot cards in the bottom slot.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2009, 12:01 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 196
Default

yea it was just my stupidity
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 8, 2009, 02:11 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 618

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by go flames go View Post
yea it was just my stupidity
I wouldn't go that far you did double check and see the error and fix it yourself! Any pictures to put in the worklog? You are going to make a worklog, right??
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Audio noise in front panel connections Wrench Audio 1 February 15, 2009 09:49 AM
Aurora 3d case front panel headphone plugin and XonarDx sound card problem Shadowmeph Audio 4 December 1, 2008 06:49 PM
stacker 830 front usb ports problem... CraigHf Troubleshooting 4 April 13, 2008 07:07 PM
Lowest Latency Firewire? Lyxtwing Audio 0 February 6, 2008 06:58 PM
external case powered by firewire? lowfat Storage 6 July 28, 2007 06:41 AM