Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 10:59 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default Building right now... need a little help

CPU: i7 920
Motherboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD3R
PSU - Corsair TX650
Case - Coolermaster CM900

What do I hook up to F-AUDIO? I have AC-97 and HD AUDIO.
What about the PCI-E cable on the PSU? Where does that go?

Also, how much pressure do I need to close the cover on the CPU? It took a bit of a push to get the bar down and I'm hoping that's normal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 11:24 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

F-Audio is your front audio panel connectors. Check your mobo manual, it should tell you which pin headers are the proper ones. And I can almost guarantee that you'll be using the HD Audio connector. I stand to be corrected on this point, but I think AC-97 is pretty much legacy at this point.

Your PCI-E cable(s) is usually used for graphics cards that need external power, although less powerful cards won't necessary need them.

It's normal to require a fair bit of pressure to close the cover. As long as the CPU is dropped in squarely and seated nicely (with those two little notches in the sides), you're good.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 11:28 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

ATX_12v_x2 on the mobo... is that for the two wires on the PSU that look like one when you put them together? (yellow and black x2)?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 11:36 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Yeah they should fit together then clip in, they will be keyed so that they will only fit into the 8 pin CPU power slot.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 11:39 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Thanks guys...
I'll come back if I need some more help.
If not, then I'll be back when I'm done building.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 11:52 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Do i need the F_1394 plugged in?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 11:56 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

That's your firewire connection. Hook it up if you want it available on your front panel, but it's not necessary, though. You probably have a similar cable for your front panel USB hookups - double-check to make sure you don't mix them up. The pin-out is the same, but they're not electrically compatible at all.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 12:04 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Firewire is only really big if you use a camcorder with Firewire out on it, otherwise you can normally get by with USB 2.0 or if your lucky eSATA =D I normally dont connect it and disable the controller in bios, I hate letting stuff I dont use take up my horsepower.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 01:01 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I put everything together... won't turn on.

Where should I start looking?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 01:10 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Power connector to front pannel connected? both motherboard connectors plugged in? Every connector connected tightly including ram and video cards, sata cables ect.

EDIT, is the power switch turned on on the back of your PSU? Do you see any lights on on the Motherboard? should be a power connected light on the motherboard, atleast on some motherboards.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building my first rig for under $700 Vethrik New Builds 12 February 10, 2009 03:53 PM
Building my first PC. Rolay New Builds 12 October 12, 2008 08:06 AM
Building Phobia Off Topic 9 September 21, 2008 01:29 PM
Building New Rig swiftk1 New Builds 7 August 27, 2008 03:16 PM
Building another rig! Kassela Troubleshooting 5 March 17, 2008 11:14 AM