Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 01:33 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I was able to get into BIOS and set to boot from CD...
I'm trying to load vista now.
I hope I did this right... I messed up and powered off when it was asking for a system disk (after verifying DMI).

So far it's saying "Windows is loading files..."

**edit**
now it's stuck at a weird blueish greenish screen... looks like a background or something.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 01:43 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Do I have to install anything from the motherboard disk first?
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 02:06 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Well, Vista is installing.

I'm wondering... how long should I give this thing (if all goes well) before I can consider it stable? I don't plan to overclock just yet.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 02:48 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

RealTemp 3.0 is giving me this...

Core 0 - 39
GPU - 40
Core1 - 38
Core2 - 39
Core3 - 37

I'm not quite sure how to configure RealTemp... I'm used to speedfan.
Can anyone help, or point me to a tutorial or something?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 04:26 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Realtemp is designed to be used with default settings. No changes needed. If you left all voltage and blck settings to stock, then your rig is probably stable. Install OCCT, let it run for 2 hours to confirm.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2009, 03:43 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Well I let OCCT run for just over 30mins... then I had to go out and was a little afraid to leave it going. OCCT showed that core temps got just over 71c... 81 according to RealTemp. I might try it again, but everything seems to be running fine.

A few graphics programs I use get temps around 80c... 84 max so far. From what I've read these temps are decent for stock speed and cooling. I do have a better HSF that I'll be putting on soon ( NCIX.com - Buy Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme 1366RT Heatpipe Cooler LGA1366 120MM Fan FDB 1600RPM 28.0DBA 63.7CFM - ULTRA-120-1366RT In Canada. )which should help... especially when I start to overclock. I may need help installing it, but we'll see.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2009, 04:47 AM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Ouch those are some damn high temps man, I didnt know those things got so hot at stock... if you have the TRUE on hand you should just pop it in and try seeing what temps you get off that. Btw max temps for that CPU are 90c so considering your running that CPU at stock speeds your temps are a little high for my tastes. Ive seen temps that high @ 3.8ghz with a TRUE...
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2009, 05:47 AM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

That does seem very high for the temps. Did you forget to apply the TIM?
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2009, 05:50 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I may have messed up and not put enough TIM.
I'd like to put the other HSF on, but I'm a bit confused by it.
It's a little trickier than the stock cooler.
Which way should the fan point?
How careful do I need to be?
When I tried putting it on, the springs on the screws were making it really tight and I was afraid I'd wreck something.

Motherboard:
NCIX.com - Buy Gigabyte EX58-UD3R-SLI ATX LGA1366 X58 DDR3 2PCI-E SATA2 RAID Sound GBLAN CrossFireX SLI Motherboard - GA-EX58-UD3R-SLI In Canada.

As I've said many times, I haven't done this before. I'd have no way to replace parts if I ruin something and maybe I'm being overly careful and gentle. Whenever I have to apply any pressure to something I get nervous.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2009, 05:52 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I may try and reapply the TIM if I don't feel like tackling the HSF right now... I have no alcohol at the moment though, so how should I clean the CPU off? I suppose I could walk down to the store and get some.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building my first rig for under $700 Vethrik New Builds 12 February 10, 2009 02:53 PM
Building my first PC. Rolay New Builds 12 October 12, 2008 07:06 AM
Building Phobia Off Topic 9 September 21, 2008 12:29 PM
Building New Rig swiftk1 New Builds 7 August 27, 2008 02:16 PM
Building another rig! Kassela Troubleshooting 5 March 17, 2008 10:14 AM