Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 05:23 PM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default VERY wierd behavior

Ok, for the past couple of days I've been putting my computer into "Sleep" mode when I go to work....

I come home after a long day, turn on the light in my office and the computer starts up!!!

Two days in a row?? WTF??

Is there ANY chance that there's a light sensor or something built into my case? Is it picking up the light turning on through the electrical??

This is just ODD!!!

Has anyone else had this happen?

It's only started since I went to the Raven case...
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 05:27 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Have you ever possibly thought that the plug your computer is plugged into is controlled by the switch?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 05:28 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Conficker!!! LOL j/k

I'm with enaberif. Plug's on a switch, maybe.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 05:35 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

That couldnt be hes saying its in sleep mode and it reactivates when he turns on the light, not going from off to on like a switch would. I dont even think power fluctuations are supose to effect sleep mode, just peripherals and network acsess. Deffinetly strange behavior but I doubt you have a sensor built into the PC.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 05:36 PM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default

nope, not on the switch, I can turn the light on and off all I want, it does nothing....

Don't get me wrong, I LIKE this behavior...walk in the room and the computer wakes up...SWEET!! LOL
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 05:38 PM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default

Oh, and I'm nowhere near the desk, so it's not like I'm touching the mouse or keyboard...

cue the Twilight Zone music
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 05:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 29
Default

maybe you should keep your computer sleeping and not disturb it by turning on the lights!.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:24 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

it looks like nightriders car and now it acts like it too!! id be happy with that lol/
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:32 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

do you actually see it turn on, or is it already turned on?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 07:05 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,879

My System Specs

Default

I demand video proof! (since this is April Fools day after all )
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New here.. new build.. weird 4870x2 behavior. artemm Video Cards 8 March 14, 2009 05:51 PM
Wierd crashes? No BSOD chouchou Troubleshooting 20 January 22, 2009 01:50 AM
Strange Bittorent Behavior mo_bettah O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 January 13, 2009 12:09 AM
diablo 2 running poorly wierd high end pc mmmstew Gaming 8 July 14, 2008 02:22 PM
Wierd CPUZ readings... Babrbarossa Troubleshooting 1 June 5, 2007 02:35 AM