Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 10:58 AM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default

Oh yeah, that's the first thing I do...
TURN OF UAC!!! That has to be Vista's biggest aggrevation!!!!!!
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 11:08 AM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toronto122 View Post
Oh yeah, that's the first thing I do...
TURN OF UAC!!! That has to be Vista's biggest aggrevation!!!!!!
Nevvvvvvvvvver turn this off. bad bad bad computer management!

Turning it off means some programs and tasks just won't run at all; since if they detect this as off Vista flags and they just won't load...

What you do is set it to auto elevate :P

"Click Start and Control Panel. Switch to Classic View (if you haven't already) and click on the Administration Tools icon. In the list that opens click on Local Security Policy, and in the next window, Local Policies (a tiny bit redundant, but all UIs can't be perfect -- If UAC is running you'll get a UAC pop-up somewhere in here). In the Local Policies list click Security Options, and scroll down to "User Account Control: Behavior" (the full title of the policy is "User Account Control: Behavior of the elevation prompt for administrators in Admin Approval Mode" but the window barely opens that far). Double-click the title and in the dialog box change its setting from "Prompt for Consent" to "Elevate without prompting." Click OK and the urge to tear your hair and scream at your PC will be greatly diminished in the future."
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 11:29 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,718

My System Specs

Default

People seem to overreact about how annoying it is all the time. Come on here, you move your mouse a couple to a few millimetres and press the button. Get over it.

Microsoft's attempt at organizing(if you can call it that) the Control Panels folder is by far more annoying than UAC. It was awful in XP as well.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 11:30 AM
Toronto122's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 238
Default

I've never had a problem with ANY software running with UAC turned off....
__________________
NZXT Rogue Cube Case
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8 w/Scythe Mugen 2
6 gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz low latency
Asus Rampage II GENE Motherboard
2 x Asus GTX 285 in SLI (710/1617/2700)
1 x 1tb WD Black
3 x WD 640AAKS in RAID 0
Enermax 85-1050 PSU
HP 30" 2560x1600, G19, G7, M-Audio Q40 Headset

Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 11:31 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

hahaha if a program won't run because UAC is turned off that program shouldn't be installed because it flags me a warning of "what is this program doing that it needs so much security"?

UAC is a waste of time imho.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 12:50 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

This thread is all over the place... You really dont need many tools to set up a new PC if its not being overclocked. A thumb drive with the relevent newest drivers, I normally also add AVG if its for someone whom I know needs A/V as well as CCleaner. Thats about it, maybe open office if they need an office suite.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 12:59 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
You really dont need many tools to set up a new PC if its not being overclocked.
Agreed...really its all about "common sense" and ensuring your "important" stuff is backed-up! I think the Thread I posted earlier covers the majority of what is required.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 01:28 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,084

My System Specs

Default

Install TweakUAC. Allows you to control UAC behavior, and auto-elevate prompts as described above. Download TweakUAC for Windows Vista
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 01:50 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Quote:
I think the Thread I posted earlier covers the majority of what is required.
+1

Quote:
Install TweakUAC. Allows you to control UAC behavior, and auto-elevate prompts as described above. Download TweakUAC for Windows Vista
Id rather stay away from installing more junk on my hard drives to do something that can be easily set manually as pointed out by Encorp. I try to keep as little utility programs on my PC as possible, and out of my registry.

EDIT:
Quote:
TweakUAC does NOT require installation
lol sorry sugar I should have read the link first, would make a great thumbdrive app. I will be adding it to my toolbox thumb drive and testing it out today.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old March 31, 2009, 01:35 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm about to build my first computer...
Just a couple more days.

I'll be running Vista Home Premium 64bit.

What do I need to have ready? Drivers for video card/motherboard/ect...
Is that all that's essential for now?
I'll worry about more when the system is running.

The vista sp1 is a 800MB+ download... is the only other way to get it from Windows Update?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good Things in a Small Package - My H2GO Build zlojack Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 80 March 25, 2009 08:12 AM
The Final Build (Good things in small Packages) Soultribunal New Builds 12 December 12, 2008 07:08 PM
First Ever Computer Build Wein13 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 49 September 19, 2008 03:54 PM
Build Me A Computer IronBubbles New Builds 20 August 23, 2008 07:39 PM
Build me a computer from this site (please) RedOxide CPU's and Motherboards 16 March 26, 2008 07:11 AM