Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 10:39 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

You only need to find a mobo with onboard GPU and you can leave out the video card all together. for booting into windows that is, youll still need the CCTV.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 10:41 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

yes i think about it too... biostar should be okay... much cheap than p5k lc
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 10:52 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

You could probubly build this rig with a cheap amd x2 5000+ or something, im doubting that your going to be overclocking or anything like that your just going for bare bones build that is JUST meant for security right?

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.php?sku=37096&vpn=A740GM-M%20(V1.0A)&manufacture=ECS%2FELITEGROUP

NCIX.com - Buy AMD Athlon 64 X2 4850E Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 2.5GHZ 2X512KB 65NM 45W Retail Box - ADH4850DOBOX In Canada.

NCIX.com - Buy G.SKILL F2-6400CL4D-4GBPK PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-12 240PIN Dual Channel Memory Kit - F2-6400CL4D-4GBPK In Canada.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 10:59 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

ecs 69 << never heard of that company before... good?
amd 69
g-skill 52

for 190

thats not bad...

if i have this Buy Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4 2GB 2X1GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 4-4-4-12 240PIN Dual Channel Memory for 36 and total is 174...

anyhow... someone in here already built the computer and they seem recommend e5200...


ps. thank you for suggestion...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 11:08 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

I dont think you need the extra power of the E5200 build for this, from what ive read all your doing is trying to build a PC for the security system as cheap as possible. Theres no real reason to go with an E5200, the AMD and ECS would be plenty. ECS isnt the best, but if your not overclocking then their boards work just fine, ive used a few and have never had troubles with them. thats just my 2 cents. pretty sure the AMD cpu would compare pretty well to an E2200 which is what was listed as the other guys camera build.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 11:12 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

honestly... i never build amd before (i only own one AMD that is much newer but slower than my old 2003 intel computer and i hate it)... if you are expert or amd fan then i will think it one more time... ;p

yeah i wont dare to overclock it... or whatever...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 11:25 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

AMD build is pretty well the same as an Intel build, just different CPU/chipsets. I really dont think that if your not overclocking that you will at see much difference between the E5200 and the AMD CPU, they will both be more then enough to do the job that you need done here. the E5200 doesnt really show its full potential untill its higher overclocked (3.5ghz+).

bit-tech.net | Review - Athlon X2 7750 vs. Intel E5200 OC & Value

The bit tech value graph here shows that the unoverclocked E5200 is very near the red value zone meaning bad price/performance. the 4850E hits about mid way un overclocked. and its $30 cheaper. Im more of an intel guy myself but ive built plenty of both and in this situation id be looking at the AMD platform as its just plain CHEAP.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 11:33 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

thats very interesting article... (dec 08 is not that old) i am surpring how powerful e5200 is) look at video encoding... e5200 oc made a huge different...


just wonder... amd 64 requres 64 bit (4 gb of ram)?
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 11:53 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Look at the overclock on that E5200 though, 4ghz for that top score. You could also look at an X2 5200, but i highly doubt youd see much difference between these 3 cpus. Id just go with the $30 cheaper. no 64 bit amds dont, both amd and intel both run 64 bit and 32 bit. you will need 64 bit windows to technically use the full 4gb of ram, but I wouldnt over complicate things, Id just run a 32 bit windows.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 12:18 AM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

i doubt biostar with e5200 will make 3.0 ghz with retail cpu cooler... asus p5kpl wont do that too... right?


actually i know about 64bit vs 32 bit... just wonder why althon 64 is...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best Digital Camera in the $150 range? Silvgearx Off Topic 8 February 10, 2009 07:30 AM
Digital Camera miggs78 Off Topic 12 February 4, 2009 01:10 PM
[WTB] Cheap digital camera Vancouver Surrey area aimndtel Buy/Sell & Trade 0 November 21, 2008 11:13 PM
Buy A Camera ChuckleBrother Off Topic 15 June 6, 2008 08:24 PM
Home Security Shadowed Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 23, 2007 01:05 PM