Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 07:44 PM
RainMaker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Default Basic system

1. This sucker is for my mother-in-law and she will use it for internet/email and photo editing. Not hardcore manipulation but touch-ups, croping, etc, etc. She does however ue Photoshop to accomplish this. (I know like cutting a sandwhich with a tablesaw, but it's what she knows.)

2. Tight around $800 for the rig.

3.

4. No MSI.I

5. All new.

6. yeppers...just looking for some thoughts on the system proposed.

7. default only

8. Very Soon.

Proposal:
  • Cooler Master Elite 330 Chassis, Black
  • Intel PentiumŪ Dual-Core Processor E5200 2.50 GHz w/ 2MB Cache
  • eVGA nForce 730i / e-Geforce 9300 w/ DDR2 800 7.1 Audio, Gigabit Lan, PCI-E 2.0, HDMI
  • Mushkin EM2-6400 Enhanced DDR2 SDRAM, 4GB Dual Pack (2 x 2GB)
  • Samsung 1TB SpinPoint F1 7200rpm SATA II w/ 32MB Cache
  • LG Super Multi Security DVD Writer 22x, SATA, Black (OEM)
  • Corsair CMPSU-400CX 400 Watt w/ 120mm Fan
  • Microsoft Windows Vista Home Basic x64 (64-bit) DVD w/ SP1, OEM, 1-Pack
Thanks in advance for your input.

~RainMaker
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 07:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

I'd look at a dualcore ATOM rig, with XP, personally.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 08:15 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276
Default

Something to consider: Photoshop works more efficiently with a separate "scratch" drive. You could get two smaller ones, instead of the monster.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 08:22 PM
RainMaker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Default

yeah...but couldn't I just partion the monster into two? Or is it still the same 'guts' doing the work? Would the speed difference be that noticeable?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 08:23 PM
RainMaker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
I'd look at a dualcore ATOM rig, with XP, personally.
How so? And it seems Vista is easier to find these days and is slightly more future proof wouldn't you say?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 08:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Sure, but based on the needs you stated, teh lower power consumption of an ATOM rig will save cash in the long run(33w for the entire platform, minus drives). Of course, you give up a bit of performance(1.6ghz dual), so I recommend the OS that has lower overhead...and I love the small system-size...but ATOM 330 is not quite enough for Vista + photoshop. Check out how small shuttle's version is:

Shuttle X27D dual-core Atom desktop PC ? Register Hardware

Or Dell's version:

Dell OptiPlex 160 Desktop

Now, note that I said look, not buy. I am still unsure on this platform, but it does pose a very interesting option for those not needing a high-power machine...



Last edited by cadaveca; March 1, 2009 at 08:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 08:51 PM
Iamcanadian7's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 251
Default

An ATOM might be stretched a little thin running photoshop, though I could be wrong. However you are definetly going to want to go with XP, Vista will be an unnecessary hog on that system.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 09:06 PM
RainMaker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iamcanadian7 View Post
Vista will be an unnecessary hog on that system.
Not to disagree ('cause I don't really know), but how do you figure? I am running 64x Vista right now on the same chip with 4GB of RAM and everything seems good to me. Or is it the on-board video that's going to slow things down?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 09:08 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

He's talking about the ATOM rig.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 09:34 PM
RainMaker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Default

oops. I'll try to keep up now.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dynamic or basic? Phobia Storage 2 February 3, 2009 04:17 PM
First Build - Basic FeelsGood New Builds 2 January 11, 2009 09:01 AM
Basic budget build CactusJoe New Builds 3 January 4, 2009 04:38 PM
Basic questions for a 4870 rig Bucklaz New Builds 13 December 27, 2008 12:02 AM
Basic System Shredder HTPC Systems & Software 6 March 13, 2008 06:18 AM