Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 1, 2009, 01:37 PM
Rookie

Default First time assembly

So i'm quite new to this and i won't actually build it myself but will have it made for me. Mainly i just want an upgrade for one i want a pretty good gaming pc for once and also keep options open for the future so that's why i chooice the i7 cpu. Also i'm from europe (netherlands) so i'll list prices in euro, hope that won't be too confusing :). i want to spend around 1,500 and not much more then that really.

Case: Cooler master big tower haf932 121,00 / Silverstone raven atx 157,50 / Cooler master cosmos 1000 167,00

for the case, i am not too sure yet, it's not that i will massively overclock anything. but when looking trough prices and options these three stood out for me.

PSU: Zalman Powersupply ZM750-HP 750W Modular 126,50

i recon 750 should be enough, maybe even if i would ever add another card for sli but i am not entirely sure about that. if you have any recommendations for another psu i'll be glad to hear it.

CPU: Intel Core i7 920 265,00

not really considering a different cpu. perhaps in a year+ i could just upgrade to one of the newer ones wich will probally be released in 2010 so i read.

MB: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 258,50

well first i was considering the asus p6t deluxe, but with barely any price difference and after i read the review on this site i was pretty much sold to this one.

RAM: Corsair 3x2GB DDR3 SDRAM PC12800 CL8.0 Dominator 179,00

only read good things about this, not that i will massivly overclock or anything but i like to keep options open :).

GPU: XFX GeForce GTX260 Black 896MB (216) 265,00