Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 10:56 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Sorry guys, thought the attachment would open up to a larger image.. I added another link to the image, now you can zoom in to see what is in the build.

Just woke up, will come in later on to read more! Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 11:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

I will have to have an OS no matter what, I guess I can download uBuntu for the time being?? Will it work with all this setup and call of duty 4? If yes then will buy Vista in summer.

The PSU I thought is enough power, no? 850 maybe but 1000 would be killing it, don't you think?

I too heard of the P6T Deluxe V2 but the only difference Asus says is they removed the SAS.. maybe they're hiding something?

As for video card, 260 is not capable of playing HD on 24inch? :S I thought it was :(
How is the 285? NCIX.com - Buy EVGA E-GEFORCE GTX 285 648MHZ 1024MB 2.489GHZ GDDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDCP HDTV Out Video Card - 01G-P3-1281-AR In Canada.


Also I was looking at different video cards and the only one that has an HDMI out is the 295 which is on the expensive side. I don't get it why don't they include HDMI on every card? Do you know any 260, 280s that have HDMI out port?

Last edited by mtl514; February 15, 2009 at 12:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 01:33 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtl514 View Post
I will have to have an OS no matter what, I guess I can download uBuntu for the time being?? Will it work with all this setup and call of duty 4? If yes then will buy Vista in summer.

The PSU I thought is enough power, no? 850 maybe but 1000 would be killing it, don't you think?

I too heard of the P6T Deluxe V2 but the only difference Asus says is they removed the SAS.. maybe they're hiding something?

As for video card, 260 is not capable of playing HD on 24inch? :S I thought it was :(
How is the 285? NCIX.com - Buy EVGA E-GEFORCE GTX 285 648MHZ 1024MB 2.489GHZ GDDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I HDCP HDTV Out Video Card - 01G-P3-1281-AR In Canada.
Also I was looking at different video cards and the only one that has an HDMI out is the 295 which is on the expensive side. I don't get it why don't they include HDMI on every card? Do you know any 260, 280s that have HDMI out port?
I think CoD4 will work fine in Ubuntu if you use Wine.

Your PSU is enough.

No comment.

The 260 should be fine playing on a 24 inch. I'm on a 37" 1920x1080 HDTV, and all my games run smoothly.

My 37" only has HDMI, but NVIDIA includes a dongle for DVI-HDMI, so all you'll need is an HDMI cable and you should be good to go.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 01:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

For your OS... do some googling for the games you want to play and see if they run fine under the Windows 7 Beta. If they do, you'll have the free use of an OS until august. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 01:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
For your OS... do some googling for the games you want to play and see if they run fine under the Windows 7 Beta. If they do, you'll have the free use of an OS until august. :)
Never thought of it that way. thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 02:23 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Chances are everything will work in Windows 7 Beta. So that's probably the smartest choice for now at least.

Going Linux isn't the smartest though if you want to be doing gaming IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 03:50 PM
Triggz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Welcome to the forums!!!

Just a quick point on the "customer service" concerns you have with Direct Canada.

We've got a Direct Canada rep here at HWC (username = DC_Support)who's been able to smooth through the great majority of issues folks have had with Direct Canada (Not that there have been all that many aside from the industry wide on-line meltdown of Christmas `07 :) ). He's been very quick to respond, and has provided many of our members with superb personalized service.

I'm not suggesting that you chose Direct Canada (that's up to you to decide), but the free shipping deal often makes them the best choice if you're including a (heavy) case in your order.
Thanks for the info! I read the customer service review/opinion somewhere on here... But it is really good to know there is someone here to talk to if you have any problems! Good on you DirectCanada!

Last edited by Triggz; February 15, 2009 at 03:51 PM. Reason: bad spelling
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 05:50 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

One other difference between the P6T Deluxe V1 and V2 is the new version supports 24 GB ram, the V1 only 12GB according to the listed specs...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 06:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Armstrong, BC, Canada
Posts: 19
Default

Sure his games will work fine under windows 7 but if he doesnt already have a copy of the beta its kind of too late, at least to get it directly from Microsoft, as they closed the downloading on friday I think.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 06:37 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,883

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmelchart View Post
Sure his games will work fine under windows 7 but if he doesnt already have a copy of the beta its kind of too late, at least to get it directly from Microsoft, as they closed the downloading on friday I think.
Yeah but it's easy to find on torrents
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
new build

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Time Build Need Help and Opinions Modestyle New Builds 35 February 28, 2009 04:30 PM
Next Budget Build - H2O This Time BALISTX New Builds 13 October 5, 2008 03:04 PM
Well it's off to the races again New Build Time :) tgraszat14 New Builds 5 July 26, 2008 09:07 PM
First time build CGW Troubleshooting 10 September 12, 2007 07:27 PM
PC Build - first time! Simulation! Mike CPU's and Motherboards 28 April 14, 2007 04:57 PM