Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 07:45 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Laval,Qc
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
I guess you could, perhaps save on shipping a bit. However DC has that nice shipping promo on until the end of the month and they basically are NCIX.


Personally I haven't really been tracking Phenom II so I can't comment much there. However I'd rather an ASUS or Gigabyte motherboard over Biostar.
I looked at the review and it seems to be good.. I suppose it's not the best.. but as long it work

If I choose another combo I will be over .. your pick
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 12:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Laval,Qc
Posts: 96
Default

does the Free ground shipping is always there? ( 300$ orders )
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 12:32 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

At Direct Canada? It says it's a temporary shipping deal, but that deal's been around for at least a year and a half..... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 12:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Laval,Qc
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
At Direct Canada? It says it's a temporary shipping deal, but that deal's been around for at least a year and a half..... :)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 01:28 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Thats just a way to keep potential buyers on edge and instill the "I better buy now before it expires mentallity" That being said DC is great only 2 items in 4 years have ever arrived defective I won't mention what, because Enaberif might yell at me.

EE
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 01:37 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
because Enaberif might yell at me.
Ha....hopefully he'll like my new Sig with my Intel Chipset Board....old ones gotta stay just a little longer! I haven't "slept with it" since it starting giving me the dreaded SATA Optical Drive issues :)
I'm afraid if anyones Posts one more query about Speedstep I'll likely here him Vancouver banging his head against his desk from here on the Island, although I coud send him some Prozac....Oxycotin....Xanax..... :)
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 02:18 PM
manbearpig's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Default

AMD seem to tout their complete Dragon set up, Phenom II, 7XX series MB and 48XX series card, but would it really make any diff going with a Nvidia card in a system? I myself am in the possible upgrade boat and have considered the new PII 940 since it's price drop makes it far more attractive, but am unclear on what difference the video card would make.

To help jspot I've been considering:
AMD Phenom II 940 BE
Gigabyte
MA790GP-DS4H
Evga GTX 280 Superclocked
4GB G-Skill PC2-8500

__________________
AMD64 3700+ | Asus A8V | 2G OCZ Platinum | BFG 7800GS OC AGP | WD 80G | Enermax 460W | Thermaltake Tsunami
Yes my system is old
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 02:32 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

I haven't seen anything yet that suggests a Nvidia card would in any way be held back running on a "dragon platform" motherboard other than the lack of SLI ability. The jury is still out as to what kind of benefits we'll see from full integration of cpu/chipset/gpu, but I suspect there would be some.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 02:43 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,877

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jspot69 View Post
I looked at the review and it seems to be good.. I suppose it's not the best.. but as long it work

If I choose another combo I will be over .. your pick
lol I'm not deciding for you cause I'm not taking the blame if it doesn't work out

I think it's down to personal choice now. Both will perform fairly equally and are priced around the same.

Though again, I'd really consider spending the extra $50 or so and getting a "better" motherboard or perhaps NCIX will have a better bundle tomorrow (Wednesday = New sale day)
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 03:02 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Just throwing this out thier guys...as you know I have little experience with AMD CPU's or ATI...but wouldn't it make sense for him to go with a decent 4870 ATI Card in case he wants to Crossfire at some point in the future? I don't know..seems like kind of "crippling" yourself off the bat by purchasing new CPU n MOBO only to "restrict" yourself with an nVidia Card.....although if he never intends to try multi Cards no big deal then.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD new built Chris New Builds 45 April 25, 2009 07:26 AM
I built me folding box...help me configure it. Orkin HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 November 21, 2008 05:10 PM
built new PC, won't power on.. details inside! 47carleton Troubleshooting 6 May 13, 2008 09:21 AM
Finally Built!!! Sameer CPU's and Motherboards 23 May 17, 2007 04:49 AM
bit-tech features Hangar 101 scratch-built mod Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 February 27, 2007 11:27 AM