Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 04:08 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default P5Q-PRO Build

Hey everyone, my final parts arrived today for my build. I am using
ASUS P5Q PRO Motherboard
Xion Modular PSU 600W
Intel Q8200 Core 2 Quad CPU
OCZ 4x2 GB RAM
Seagate SATA250GB HD (shudders)
Samsung DVDRW Burner
Nvidia 9800GT OC Video Card

Anyways, I've never had a problem like this on any build before. Every operating system I try to install gives me SOME error. Windows Vista x64 and x32 both come up right after hitting a button to boot from cd, some crap error about hardware or software change or malicious threat unknown, then it says press enter to continue. I press enter, computer restarts.

Windows Xp Pro and Home (tried both) Retail and burnt copies.
Always comes up with 'fatfil.sys' is unreadable or corrupt when loading setup files. or some other bogus error.

Windows 98 is being a pain with the NTFS partition. Formatting to FAT and trying it atm.

Does anyone know what the hell the problem may be?

Thanks
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 04:33 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Turns out it was the memory. GRRRRRR!!
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 05:04 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Do you have one good set?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 05:06 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

I dont know if they just wouldnt install because I had 8gb of ram or not. Vista is just finishing install. Then I will replace the ram and try to boot it up and see if the OS will load up.
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 06:21 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Do you know if it is possible to register 8gb of ram in my computer. I am only running 4 right now. 2 of the 2gb sticks. Whenever I put another stick in the black slot on my mobo, it never boots up correctly. (I have the 2 yellow slots and 2 black slots, Yellow is what im running now)

I even tried getting 6gb and whenever there is something in the black slots it just wont go....
Anyone know if there is a setting or something I can do to get the 8gb working?

Thanks
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2009, 08:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

You may have to raise both the ram voltage (try this first) and the northbridge voltage. Running 4 sticks is an extra strain on the system, I'm not sure what 4X2 is like.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 02:14 PM
element291's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Barrie, Ontario
Posts: 674
Default

Updating the bios fixed the issue. Thanks!
__________________

| ASUS P8Z68-VPRO | Intel i5 2500K | 8Gb Patriot Viper Xtreme | 2x 60gb OCZ Solid 3 SSD | EVGA GTX260 Core216 |




Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 02:51 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

What bios version are you running now, and how do you find it compared to what shipped on it?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Critique my gaming build build 1080p New Builds 10 January 14, 2009 04:18 PM