Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old December 30, 2008, 11:22 PM
Trial Member

Default First Build - Any advice

Hey everyone! Coincidently, this is also my first post. I am an avid gamer and amateur photographer, and therefore was looking to build the best machine I could for the least amount if money; all things are relative. My goal was to run Crysis and CoH without lag as well as Photoshop CS4. I have succeeded in doing so, but I would like to Overclock my system to get the most potential from it. Here is what I have:

Q 6700 @ 2.90 (10x) @ 1.3v
Asus Rampage Formula X48
Asus Supreme FX II audio
Radeon 4870 @ 780mhz GPU, 1000mhz memory
2x 2gb Corsair Dominator 8500 1066mhz w/ fan kit
2x Seagate Barracuda SATA 500gb 16mb cache in RAID 0
Ultra 750w X2 edition modular power supply
Therlmalright IFX-14 CPU cooler
4x Scythe Kaze Jyuni 120mm fans w/ KazeMaster controllers
Sony dual-layer dvd burner
Vista 32 bit

I have done some mild overclocking as you can see, but when I tried to push my system past 3.00 ghz, it became unstable. I was hoping to fall in the range of 3.3-3.6 ghz, if this is reasonable; I simply just don't have the cash for another build if I blow this one up!

I am also having difficulty entering my bios on startup, and am wondering exactly what will happen when I flash the CMOS.

I guess my final question is, how much potential does my system have? Any help would be much appreciated. Even if it means trashing a few parts you deem to be garbage, and replacing them with better ones.
Old December 31, 2008, 01:51 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

Set the voltage up a bit more, I'd say 1.35v max, and then try overclocking past 3GHZ. If it works, great. If not, then the instability is probably due to heat, which means crank up the fan speed on your HSF.