Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 03:55 PM
CORE's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 114
Default New Build: A lil help :D

Hi there guys. I'm new here and I've seen this forum is very active. Can you help me out on the build if those are compatible. Thanks

1. What YOUR PC will be used for. That means what types of tasks you'll be performing.
Mostly for gaming
2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread
Around 1500$
3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.
Canada- canadacomputers.com
4. IF YOU have a brand preference. That means, are you an Intel-Fanboy, AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy, nVidia-Fanboy, Seagate-Fanboy, WD-Fanboy, etc, etc, etc, you get the picture.
Uhh... Intel
5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.
N/A
6. IF YOU have searched and/or read similar threads.
Yes
7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds.
In the future yes
8. WHEN do you plan to build it?
I'll buy it this week

Mobo: EVGA 132-YW-E178-A1 3-Way SLI
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
RAM: OCZ DDR2 PC2-8500 1066 MHz Reaper HPC Edition
PSU: Corsair TX Series CMPSU-850TX 850W
HD: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11
Video Card:EVGA GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 SC 896MB SuperClocked
OS: Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit

Are these parts compatible with each other?
Is the powersupply enough if in the future I add another GTX260 w/ the same model?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 04:11 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

Yes, to both questions. Now, do you really need a Q9550? A Q9450 is powerful enough, and can be oc'ed to the Q9550 speeds. It costs less too...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 05:27 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

First off, buy from NCIX and Direct Canada, as well as don't forget to Price Match. Canada Computers is a great place imo to buy from, but sometimes their prices are more expensive than NCIX and Direct Canada.

Now if I were you, I'd ditch that EVGA motherboard and get a ASUS P5Q Pro or a Gigabyte EP45 motherboard. The P45 chipets are way better than the 780i chipset, and I wouldn't recommend you getting a 780i motherboard unless you're going to SLI. I however prefer to upgrade instead of SLI.

Change the CPU to a Q9450 or a Q6600. Both CPUs should easily reach 3.2Ghz, and with some luck, 3.6Ghz too.

You may want to get a modular PSU just to make managing cables easier. I would definitely recommend a HX620, but if you add in another GTX260, there's no guarantees that the HX620 can power them both smoothly.

Change the hard drive to a WD or Seagate or Samsung 640GB. These are the best bang for buck in terms of performance, price, and capacity.

You may want to add in a CPU cooler to keep that quad core cool. I'd suggest the OCZ Vendetta 2.

Also, you forgot your computer case.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 05:47 PM
CORE's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 114
Default

Oh thanks for the replies.
The Computer case is NZXT Tempest
The cooler is ocz vendetta 2
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 06:34 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Now if I were you, I'd ditch that EVGA motherboard and get a ASUS P5Q Pro or a Gigabyte EP45 motherboard. The P45 chipets are way better than the 780i chipset, and I wouldn't recommend you getting a 780i motherboard unless you're going to SLI. I however prefer to upgrade instead of SLI.
I disagree (no surprise thier)..your build looks solid..stick to it..you won't be dissapointed and you certainly won't be dissapointed if you decide to double-up that GTX260..very nice Rig!!!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2008, 07:04 AM
CORE's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 114
Default

Guys thanks for the help.

I bought the parts yesterday and assembled it same day. Thank you guys for all the help.
Its working now=D

Merry Christmas
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2008, 07:47 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

awsome! congrats
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2008, 08:11 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

What'd you get? The Boxing Day deals weren't all that great in my opinion. Got any pics?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2008, 01:13 PM
CORE's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 114
Default

sure ill post some pics but now i have some vista home premium 64bit issues.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes