Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 12:36 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

With the 4Gb kit you will see approx 3Gb on many systems. The 4GB will not get you much faster, and definitely not twice as fast, unless you fill up all your 2GB of ram. My 4GB kit of ram on my XP setup at home gets about 3GB on XP 32-bit.

So you may not need it, but many systems come with 4GB now so it will be a little more future proof for a very little investment in case you change to a 64-bit OS later. In any case you should see more than 2GB if you install the 4GB kit.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 01:36 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

I was able to get my rig in sig for around $680AR. So add the price difference caused by the exchange rate, my rig would probably cost about $750AR if it's bought brand new. However, since you want a modular PSU, I recommend that you go with the Corsair 520HX. It's expensive, but like it's big brother, the 620HX, the 520HX is a great PSU.

If you're going with XP 32 bit, 2GB RAM is enough. Also good quality DDR800 RAM from OCZ, Mushkin, Patriot, Corsair, etc. will easily be able to make it to at least DDR900. My sister's Patriot set is rated at DDR800 4-4-4-12, but it can easily be clocked to DDR1000+ at 5-5-5-15.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 02:30 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
With the 4Gb kit you will see approx 3Gb on many systems. The 4GB will not get you much faster, and definitely not twice as fast, unless you fill up all your 2GB of ram. My 4GB kit of ram on my XP setup at home gets about 3GB on XP 32-bit.
Thier is no benefit whatsoever running 4GB in a 32Bit OS...with that said, it won't hurt the performance either (provided you stick to 2 Slots, some Boards are finnicky with all 4 Sots filled), I run 4GB (2 x 2GB) so that I'm prepared for a 64Bit OS when / if I make the jump.
Quote:
Also good quality DDR800 RAM from OCZ, Mushkin, Patriot, Corsair, etc. will easily be able to make it to at least DDR900.
This is hardly the case...not ALL Memory can OC stable...when it comes to OC'ing RAM, some are better than others, but they are not all guarenteed to OC. I have been unable to run my Mushkin XP 8000 set higher then 1000 Mhz no matter what I have tried...and yes Timings from Mushkin Greg did not help either..its the luck of the draw!
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 02:47 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Yeah- and if he was going to do any serious overclocking, I might recommend spending another 20 bucks to get higher speed RAM and maybe this beast of a cooler- good price on it- might make up for the fact that it's not s super cooler- very quiet though (but perhaps heavier than one might want):
NCIX.com - Buy Scythe Orochi 10 Heatpipe CPU Heatsink AM2 LGA775 S478 W/ 140MM Fan - SCORC-1000 In Canada.

holy cow... very huge... but not good result as thermalright TRUE black...
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 03:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 155
Default

But, will it blend?

No, seriously..
I have almost the same build and it rocks.

I'd go with xigmatek for the heatsink, anytime.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 07:30 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,573
Default

Don't go for the OCZ Reaper.

Go for the G.Skill PC2-8000 or PC2-8500 whichever is cheapest at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 07:47 PM
RainMaker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Don't go for the OCZ Reaper.

Go for the G.Skill PC2-8000 or PC2-8500 whichever is cheapest at the moment.
Because?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2008, 11:06 AM
RainMaker's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 41
Default

Also just wondering if one should purchase a shipping insurance option? (This is my first build, so I'm a little nervous and unsure...thanks muchly for the help!)
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2008, 11:11 AM
kirk_d's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: West Coast
Posts: 223
Default

I've come to love water cooling, just because you are not strapping 2 lbs of copper to the socket. A water cooler will be much more effective at controlling temps, especially in the summer.
__________________
Opty 170(naked) @2600 | Abit AT8 32x | EVGA Vanilla 8800gt 650/1625/950 | 2gb Ocz Pc4000Eb@260 | Audigy Gamer | Tx650 | Cm690 |

WC Loop: DD Cpx-Pro | HWL 240 Xtreme | D-Tek V2
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
probably the wrong place but.. Zippoh CPU's and Motherboards 4 December 10, 2008 01:51 PM
Best place to get poutine in Montreal? S_G Off Topic 18 December 2, 2008 02:57 PM
Where’s The Best Place to Sell Old Parts North of You Off Topic 3 November 19, 2008 07:05 PM
Cheapest place to get a PS3 Eldonko Off Topic 6 August 22, 2008 06:09 PM
Good place to buy trimpots in Canada? Eldonko Off Topic 22 August 23, 2007 03:10 PM