Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 03:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 104
Default Quick question

CPU:E8400
Mobo:Gigabyte EP45 DS3L
GPU:HIS 4870
RAM:G.SKILL 2X2GB PC2-8000
CASE: Antec Three Hundred
PSU: Antec Trupower Trio 550W
HS: Xigmateck Direct Touch 3 Heatpipe heatsink w/ Xigmatek Crossbow w/ MX-2 paste
Fans: Coolermaster Blue LED 120mm Fans X2
OD:LG Black optical drive
HD: Seagate Barracuda 500GB

would a Corsair 550W be enough for this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 03:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 104
Default

and should i go for home premium or home basic? any large difference?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 03:23 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

550 will be fine.
if you are going vista go HP.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 03:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 104
Default

are there any performance deference between the Home premium and home basic? reason i ask is it's only special order and i dont wanna wait 1-2 weeks extra.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 03:42 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

I say a 550W is a bit tight especially if you plan on hooking more stuff to the computer. (Water cooling, fans etc...) Oh and if you are planing on overclocking.
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 03:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

home basic doesn't have all the proper features and is a crippled OS compared to Premium.

even overclocking the 550 would be plenty, nothing in that system is power demanding.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 04:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 104
Default

alright guys. i made a mistake in my first post. I chose the P5Q pro and the PSU is Corsair TX550W, everything is still fine right? already ordered the parts.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 07:06 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

The Psu is fine and great board i got the P5Q-E same as yers just addition of bios chip and extra ethernet controller. You'll be fine.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 08:47 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,632

My System Specs

Default

Looks good. Change the PSU to a Corsair 620HX, and the hard drive to a 620GB platter one, preferably the Western Digital Black Series if you want more speed.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 2, 2008, 09:03 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

The 550 is enough and the speed difference in hdds will be neglible.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes