Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2008, 04:48 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3

My System Specs

Default Old Board, New CPU

I am currently in the process of buying a new CPU and I want to know what you guys think is a good option for me. I currently have an ASUS Striker II Formula motherboard and OCZ Reaper 1066 mhz memory. Which CPUs are good options for this board. I am heavy into gaming and encoding video. I currently have a 65nm Q6600 and i really like it but i am moving it to another machine. I hear that the 45nm Q6600's are nice but I wouldn't mind something better that i can overclock. What do you guys think? (i dont want to get too crazy, maybe around 400 bucks)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2008, 10:59 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Well, 1st of all...welcome to HWC InfamousBert. There is no 45nm Q6600...maybe you're thinking the Q8200 is this, but it's different than the Q6600. If you can spend $400...that's perfect... the Q9550 has a nice 8.5x multiplier(if you are going to overclock..that's a plus).

This is a great deal , with free shipping as well.

GL
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 1, 2008, 08:33 AM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

I would stay with the Q6600GO. It's one hell of a processor and it's proven it's worth. I would stick with what you have until the i7 market matures - maybe Q3 of next year. You will not notice any gaming difference if you move to any other processor.
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 01:16 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3

My System Specs

Default

thx for the input, I must have been thinking of something else thats different. i think it was the stepping. I have the older version. anyhow, i think i can squeeze another year out of the 6600 and upgrade to something newer once prices drop. thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2008, 01:27 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by InfamousBert View Post
thx for the input, I must have been thinking of something else thats different. i think it was the stepping. I have the older version. anyhow, i think i can squeeze another year out of the 6600 and upgrade to something newer once prices drop. thanks guys.
np
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes