Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 07:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default Sub $500 rig for Christmas?

Run Windows XP 32-bit. Game at 1680 x 1050.

Will transplant hard drive, disk drive and case.

Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.1GHz $108.15
Foxconn A78AX-S Mobo $81.49
OCZ Platinum XTC 2x1GB DDR2-800 $19.99 MIR
Diamond Radeon HD 4850 625MHz 512MB PCI-E $197.18

Total $406.81 CAD.

May need new PSU, needs 450W max. Eyeing $17.97 Sunbeam 480W.

Last edited by Dr. Chagas; November 28, 2008 at 07:11 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 07:37 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

NCIX.com - Buy AMD GAME! Bundle Deal Phenom X3 CPU 8450 ASUS 780G Motherboard HIS 4830 Video Card Corsair 400W PSU - VALUE-AMD-FUEL In Canada.
That might actually be better for you. The 4830 actually performs a bit better than the 9800GT in some cases, so depending on what size monitor you'll game on, it'll be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 08:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Infiniti View Post
NCIX.com - Buy AMD GAME! Bundle Deal Phenom X3 CPU 8450 ASUS 780G Motherboard HIS 4830 Video Card Corsair 400W PSU - VALUE-AMD-FUEL In Canada.
That might actually be better for you. The 4830 actually performs a bit better than the 9800GT in some cases, so depending on what size monitor you'll game on, it'll be fine.
  1. Triple core = overkill and poor gaming compatibility.
  2. 4850 posted better scores than the 4830.
  3. I don't need a mobo with a graphic card built in.
  4. Where's the ram?

And I'll be running at 1680 x 1050. Probably game up to Fallout 3, CoD4, and bellow to probably cs 1.5 and like warcraft, lol.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 08:34 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Chagas View Post
  1. Triple core = overkill and poor gaming compatibility.
  2. 4850 posted better scores than the 4830.
  3. I don't need a mobo with a graphic card built in.
  4. Where's the ram?

And I'll be running at 1680 x 1050. Probably game up to Fallout 3, CoD4, and bellow to probably cs 1.5 and like warcraft, lol.

Not trying to be an , but you should respect other forum members as they will respect you. you could of responded in nicer manner, cant you?

well first of all, did you read this here?

If you did, the experience HWC members can help a lot faster.

for ram i suggest you take a look of these: OCZ plat pc2-6400 2gb for $20 after MIR But for a little future proof best you go with these: Cosair pc2-6400 4GB for $39.99 after MIR


and welcome to HWC
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 08:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
for ram i suggest you take a look of these: OCZ plat pc2-6400 2gb for $20 after MIR
Those timings and price are sweet. Def swapping the G.SKILL for that.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
But for a little future proof best you go with these: Cosair pc2-6400 4GB for $39.99 after MIR
I don't want to go 64-bit. No point for gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 09:07 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

If youre looking for future-proofness you may want to get a 790Gx/790Fx motherboard as they will be compatible with upcoming Deneb-core Phenom II's. Also, both those motherboards support crossfire so you can get a second 4850 in the future .
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 09:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
If youre looking for future-proofness you may want to get a 790Gx/790Fx motherboard as they will be compatible with upcoming Deneb-core Phenom II's. Also, both those motherboards support crossfire so you can get a second 4850 in the future .
I'll pass. I'm not looking to the future for gaming. And future-proofing is expensive. lol
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 02:10 AM
ImmaPC's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Burnaby, B.C.
Posts: 1,027
Default

^I somewhat agree. From what I've learned, if you future-proof now, it saves you money in the long run. With the extra ~$100 you can spend, I would definitely get 790FX, and/or at least 3GB of RAM (it seems 4GB is the mainstream spec nowadays) BTW Good call on the 4850, I would've done the same thing.

Try this setup:

DFI LP DK 790FX-M2RS - $174
4GB OCZ DDR2-800 @5-5-5-18 - $50 after MIR
Diamond Radeon HD4850 - $180 after MIR
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ 2.7GHZ - $92

Total comes to $496

BTW I sacrificed a bit of CPU performance for future-proofing, and twice as much ram = twice as much eye candy, while ripping a movie or something, I dunno. Play with your dual-core :p

EDIT:

I felt kind-of a for insisting on future-proofing, so I would say go ahead and build your computer with your current spec, but PLEASE,for YOUR sake, get a bit better board and 4GB of RAM!

:p

-I'm a PC!
__________________
A10-5800K,
F2A85M-PRO
8GB DDR3-2133 CL9
2x XFX 7870
Adata SX900 256GB
Toshiba 1TB
Galaxy 1000W
Antec One

Last edited by ImmaPC; November 28, 2008 at 02:29 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 06:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Default

Is 4gb supported by vanilla (32-bit) XP?

Build needs 450W max. I'm eyeing the $17.97 Sunbeam 480W.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 07:45 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Chagas View Post
Is 4gb supported by vanilla (32-bit) XP?

Build needs 450W max. I'm eyeing the $17.97 Sunbeam 480W.
You want your system to explode? Then get that PSU, otherwise NEVER SKIMP on the PSU. It is one of the single most important parts in your PC. Sure it may not boost your performance, but without a proper PSU you may encounter unexplainable errors, random early hardware death, and etc.

To answer your other question, its a yes and no situation, yes XP (32-bit) supports 4GB, but no you won't see all of it and no you won't be able to use all of it. You'll have about 3-3.5GB of usable memory. Even with that limitation, I would still highly recommend 4GB, its worth it.

Last edited by Chilly; November 28, 2008 at 07:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes