Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 05:45 PM
mailaw's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pickering, Ontario
Posts: 145
Smile A dell buy

Ok obviously im not getting a dell but i have to pricematch their product and show that its not worth it and then build.

2 questions

The Dell Online Store: Build Your System


1. what kind of ram do the use and why is it so expensive you'll have to go to the Ram section and see that.

2. what Mb do they use for the xeons or what is its equivalent.


thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 05:58 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,753

My System Specs

Default

I'd guess the RAM is special (ECC I think is some sort of error correction)
Sadly I have no idea about the mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2008, 06:04 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,482

My System Specs

Default

FBDimms are new and expensive. That is just the way it is.

Good luck beating their prices for a server build, especially if going the dual processor way. Dual processor retail systems are very pricey.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes