Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 09:07 PM
kav kav is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default Help with wiring - again newbie

I've got most of my parts and have installed them in the case. The hardwear was easy to install but I have no idea how to wire up all the components and case. I'm reading the mobo instructions but am seriously lost! Please help!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 09:15 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,026
Default

First off what motherboard do you have?

Second as for cable management zip-ties are your friend.
__________________
Heatware
HWBOT
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 09:25 PM
kav kav is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default

I have the asus P5Q Pro.

The wire management is something I am okay with. It is figuring out what goes where on the mother board...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 09:29 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,026
Default

If you are trying to figure out the front connectors, the board should have come quit the Q Connectors also called Quick Connectors.
__________________
Heatware
HWBOT
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 09:30 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,026
Default

YouTube - ASUS Q Connector
__________________
Heatware
HWBOT
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 11:05 PM
kav kav is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default

I think I am done. I just plugged it in if it fit! :)
I'm going to turn her on and do the configuration tomorrow..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 5, 2008, 11:05 PM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,026
Default

awesome.
__________________
Heatware
HWBOT
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 12:38 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Even if you didn't have the Q-Connector, you could just refer to your manual, the pins are clearly marked.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 05:26 AM
kav kav is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 52
Default

How does that look? Anything obviously wrong?

ImageShack - Hosting :: img2623mediumjn8.jpg

ImageShack - Hosting :: img2624mediumqh6.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 6, 2008, 06:52 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,437

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kav View Post
The CPU power going over the GPU. You should be able to fit it between the motherboard and the GPU close to the expansion slots of the case. It'll look cleaner but the way you have it isn't wrong per say.

Oh and that Intel stock fan needs to go
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes