Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 28, 2008, 12:47 AM
Top Prospect

Default Cheapest build with a 4870X2?

any ideas? something that won't bottleneck the gpu?
Old October 28, 2008, 06:29 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

You'll need to oc your CPU to at least 3.6-3.8 from what we've seen on the review benchmarks.
Old October 28, 2008, 02:51 PM
Allstar
F@H

that's rated GHz, not clock speeds, methinks. An E8400 build would do it justice.
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Old October 28, 2008, 04:30 PM
Top Prospect

my budget is 1300 CAN. i need everything except speakers and a monitor. I need a PC with a GPU that will last me 4-5 years.
Old October 28, 2008, 10:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

Read the sticky, search the threads around the forum. Then you'll know what you can get for $1300.

A PC can last for 4 to 5 years, but if you want the best performance and quality out of your system, your rig will last about 2 years max. After that, as newer and more graphic intensive games release, you'll need to turn down the quality of your games or upgrade your parts.
Old October 29, 2008, 12:16 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

I personally think a quad would be better choice for a longterm solution for future game releases, provided we are just beginning to see games utilize all 4 cores now it will be more common with the years to come.

The motherboard choice is a little out of my area of expertise, however I would pick something that would allow you the option of adding a second 4870x2