Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   New Builds (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/new-builds/)
-   -   Future proofing and upgrading rig, Free Beer Inside! (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/new-builds/11144-future-proofing-upgrading-rig-free-beer-inside.html)

D4ng3r October 23, 2008 09:42 AM

Future proofing and upgrading rig, Free Beer Inside!

1 Attachment(s)
Heya, I am a student currently in the process of upgrading my computer to play the games coming out nowadays. I, for too long, have been lagging behind the computer scene, always having to play my games on the lowest settings. TIME FOR THAT TO CHANGE! I am looking for cost effectiveness, but on the other hand making sure I spend enough to keep this rig running for several years competitively. I have installed ram, disc drives, video cards and a couple other things before, but never a full case from scratch.

1. What YOUR PC will be used for. That means what types of tasks you'll be performing.

70% Gaming (cod4, cod5, farcry2, etc...) , 10% photoshop, 20% multimedia/internet

2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread

My budget... excluding things I already have, looking at $450 tops including shipping and tax... (if it goes over by $20-40 for a much better item, then so be it...)

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.

C.A.N.A.D.A!

4. IF YOU have a brand preference. That means, are you an Intel-Fanboy, AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy, nVidia-Fanboy, Seagate-Fanboy, WD-Fanboy, etc, etc, etc, you get the picture.

My preference is the stuff that works, for a price that works.

5. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.

Yes, Yes I do intend on using my current parts (or already purchased for this project):

PSU: Corsair vx450
GFX: HD 4850
DISC: 2x dvd rw drives
MONITOR: 17" monitor (lol.. Can't justify spending $200+ on an extra 2 or 3 inches)