Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 01:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

If I'm not mistaken, pretty much all black edition Phenom processors come with a heatsink. The 5000+ BE is the only AMD processor I can think of that doesn't come with one. And maybe the 6400+ BE.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 02:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 104
Default

I'll wait for the part lists
__________________
AMD 9370FX
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Patriot Viper 1833
PCP&C 750W
Win8 64bit
Custom W/C
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 02:29 PM
Dead Things's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Centre of the Universe
Posts: 1,572

My System Specs

Default

Luckily, the X2 5000+ BE is one of the easiest chips on the market to OC. Simply up the multi to 15. It might be able to do it on stock voltages (mine did) - but if you need a touch more, just add a bit for stability - and since you're only upping the multi and not the reference clock, only the CPU will need more volts - everything else will be running normally. If you're feeling really adventuresome, you could try a 15.5x multi (if your mobo allows 0.5 increments) or even a 16x multi for a 3.2GHz core, but you will definitely need more voltage for that. So make sure you're monitoring your temps if you try for 16.
__________________
Follow my folding, mining & benching shenanigans @dt_oc!

Think you can overclock? Then show us what you got!
Join the Hardware Canucks Overclocking team today!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 19, 2008, 02:43 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

With decent cooling, 5000+ BE's are able to run 24/7 @ 3.2ghz no problem..... at least mine did. Try setting the vcore to 1.35V and slap the multi up to x16. You shouldn't have to do anything else unless the mobos you'll be using have funky bioses. As for tweaking the ram, just increase the voltage a tad and tighten the timings up. You could try to incease the FSB instead but then you run into needing to adjust alot of other crap like the HTT multi, ram speed, other voltages, etc.......... and you'll also be increasing heat and stress on the NB chip for nothing. Performance differences are pretty well non-existent between the two overclocking methods I found. So increasing the multi is by far the easiest and best way to go about it. Gotta love the Black Edition cpus!

Edit: Dead Things beat me to the punch
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 11:49 AM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

Thanks to those who contributed I was able to get 2 of the systems to 3.0ghz really easy with decent Vcore and temps excellent. sorry I never got to post the parts I just went to work and built them last night...pretty low key..I will get my Sh!7 together more for my new new build.

Thanks to those AMD folks just that little info made it super easy...
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 12:16 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

The 5000+ BE will do 3.2Ghz easily with a bump in voltage I had to push mine to 1.4v anything above 3.2Ghz requires far to much voltage for safe and long term operation.

Temperatures are pretty good 35-38oC idle and 50-55oC load depending on ambient temperature.

What motherboards are you working Cwestwell?

Last edited by Eagle Eye; October 20, 2008 at 01:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2008, 01:39 PM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe for the 2 I OC'd
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes