Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2008, 04:56 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default Pentium 4 file server

Just so I can outsource all my music, media, etc from my gaming machine to a dedicated hosting system (one that will also run Limewire and Bitcomet), I was thinking of fixing up my old Dell Pentium 4 machine. Now, it would require a bit of working around to get it set up in a standard ATX case (stupid incompatible Dell crap).

Keep in mind that the system need not be powerful; it's only needing to operate two large hard drives, windows xp, limewire, bitcomet, and maybe some other miscellaneous filesharing things.

Though, if you have useful suggestions for me as far as network sharing and the like goes, i'd be open to it.


anyways, here's the build (italicized parts i have already):

Quote:
Case: Antec NSK4480 380W Mid Tower ATX Blk/Slv
OS: Windows XP SP3
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 @ 1.7GHz (socket 478), 400MHz FSB
HSF: CoolerMaster ICC-L81 X-Dream3 Fan for P4
Motherboard: ASRock P4i65G/M s478 AGP 8x Motherboard
Power Supply: 380W PS included with case
Graphics Card: Radeon X1650 Pro
Memory: 512MB DDR 400MHz
Hard Drives: 1 x 80GB IDE WDC (OS, Apps); 2 x 500GB OR 2 x 1TB SATA Western Digital (File Storage) w/ HDD coolers
Optical Drives: 1 x LG DVD-RW combo drive (IDE)
I dont have a heatsink for socket 478 cpus, so thats why i'm getting one. And i figured i might as well get a decent one to increase the longevity of the cpu, because this system will be on 24/7.

I can only find microATX mobos for socket 478 P4s, so i'm hoping this Antec case can hold MATX mobo's no problem.

It also looks like i'm going to have to affix HDD coolers to the bottom of the two storage HDD's to keep them nice and cool as they will be running quite frequently (between limewire, bitcomet, and network access). I know somebody's going to suggest RAID, and I may consider it. I'm either going to get two 500GB drives to run non-RAID, or two 1TB drives to run in RAID. (Can I run RAID with the two 1TB drives, not worrying about the 80GB IDE drive apps and OS are installed on?)

I'm also going to map the storage hard drives so that my two other computers in my system (my gaming pc and my htpc) have easy access to it's contents.

The computer will be left alone to do it's thing, somewhere in a dark corner of my room.

The reason for outsourcing files to this server is to decrease clutter and whatnot from my gaming and HTPCs, and to have a centralized spot for storage.

if you spot any parts that are incompatible with eachother let me know :P
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2008, 09:21 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

only one OS needed, OpenBSD.
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 05:39 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

windows will do all that i need this machine to do, though.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 05:54 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

The video card is way overkill for a server.

Try and have the system consume the least power possible since it will be on 24/7.

A mobo with onboard graphics would be better or better still, for about the cost of that ASRock P4i65G/M, you could get this mobo that has an intigrated cpu as well ...

Link here ...
Intel BOXD945GCLF2 MINI-ITX DDR2 945GC Dual Core Atom 1PCI Motherboard Retail - DirectCanada
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2008, 06:34 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

the reason the graphics card seems overkill is because it's the only extra one i have lying around at the moment. If i could stick something less powerful in there, i would :/

edit: LOL I found an old Radeon 7000 kicking around xD
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/

Last edited by Mr. Gruntsworthy; October 16, 2008 at 02:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 04:51 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

even a radeon is to powerfull. I used to build my servers back in the day with 1 MB Trident video cards. All I was doing was reading text, not displaying graphics. And sides, Windows makes great servers, but, not free ones:P
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2008, 05:07 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

Eh, i already own the copy of XP so why not.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes