Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 07:12 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Which silverstone are you running, and is there a breakdown of the 12V rails available somewhere?

Could be that you're overloading one particular rail and that swapping around which connectors you use might do the trick.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 03:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

This is my PSU. SilverStone Technology Co., Ltd - Designing Inspiration

The powering off only started once the second video card got added.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 04:26 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Try swapping some of the plugs around. No way you're pulling anywhere near 750W, especially with a dual-core proc. When Jonnyguru tested that supply, he found the 5V line going out of spec under medium or high loads, not sure if that would cause this problem. modern GPU's mainly live on 12V power, but they do require 5V power as well.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 04:33 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Try swapping some of the plugs around. No way you're pulling anywhere near 750W, especially with a dual-core proc. When Jonnyguru tested that supply, he found the 5V line going out of spec under medium or high loads, not sure if that would cause this problem. modern GPU's mainly live on 12V power, but they do require 5V power as well.
Absolutely agree.

My dual core overclocked and my 8800GT overclocked doesn't tax my 750w either.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2008, 04:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMCD View Post
This is my PSU. SilverStone Technology Co., Ltd - Designing Inspiration

The powering off only started once the second video card got added.
Unfortunately there's nothing on the site showing which rails the PCIe plugs are connected to, but it might be a good guess that there is one on each rail.

That'd be where I start looking... leave PCIe1 plugged into your first card and try the other two PCIe connectors on your second card to see if one of them has less load on it than the one you are currently using.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 01:27 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Unfortunately there's nothing on the site showing which rails the PCIe plugs are connected to, but it might be a good guess that there is one on each rail.

That'd be where I start looking... leave PCIe1 plugged into your first card and try the other two PCIe connectors on your second card to see if one of them has less load on it than the one you are currently using.
I'll try switching some plugs around but there's not too much I can do besides switch the PCI-E 6pins and the one 4 pin. My video cards require 2x6pins and each 2pin set comes from 1 on the PSU. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 25, 2008, 05:19 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

Switching didn't yield any results. I also played some COD4 today (probably the most demanding game I have) and it crashed pretty quick. I was pulling over 520W sometimes according to the fan controller. Anyways I'm not sure how accurate it is to begin with. Looks like I'll take up my friend on his offer since I want to keep my modular stuff and this way I wouldn't have to rewire. Thanks for the help everyone.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes