Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 12:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Yeah, if your buying a full system, don't mess up like me and:
Don't price check
Don't use DirectCanada for free shipping
Buy all your parts then build it like 5 months later and then there is brand new stuff out that is a million times better for the same price


:(
__________________
Asus P5K-E | E4500 @ 2.2GHz | 2x1GB OCZ PC2-6400 DDR2-800 | eVGA 9600GT @ Stock | Hitachi 500GB SATA2 | Antec Sonata III | Windows XP Pro x86

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 03:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miggs78 View Post
Memory Express.. Lawl..

Well both NCIX and Direct Canada are good, if you are going to spend a bunch of money, check out DC, you could save some money on shipping really..

And that build looks fairly good, if your going to overclock I'd suggest getting the DS3R over the DS3L... And I would also get soem mushkin memory if I were you, for overclocking purposed mushkin works great..

Oh and we have mushkin and direct canada support people here in case you have problems..
I don't plan on overclocking as I doubt I'll really need more than 3.0 ghz. And the ds3r is 60 dollars more than the ds3l. What memory would you suggest?

Would this memory suffice? NCIX.com - Buy Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X4096-6400C5 4GB DDR2 2X2GB PC2-6400 DDR2-800 CL 5-5-5-18 240PIN Memory Kit - TWIN2X4096-6400C5 In Canada.


I plan on ordering tonight since the video card I want is in limited quantities.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 03:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Also, do I lose mail in rebate offers if I price match?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 03:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Oh, and do all motherboards support front audio ports etc.?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 04:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Sweet, I can price match the ds3r for 130.... so I'm gonna get that. And maybe a second hard drive for raid.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 04:12 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Price match is great but it depends on what you're ordering. I love it, but keep in mind I have found some orders on DC were cheaper even when I price match etc. So check both and go with either. Nothing wrong with DC!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 04:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Actually, the P5Q pro looks really nice.. has raid and it's cheaper than the ds3r. Also has alot of other features in the bios.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 04:34 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 362

My System Specs

Default

Does price matching delay the order whatsoever?
__________________
Daily // 2.4GHz Mac Mini ::4GB :: 320GB HDD :: Apple Wireless Keyboard :: G5v2

Rig // PC-A7010 :: 1050W :: Rampage :: Q6600 :: 8GB :: GTX 260
X25-V :: 4x 1TB RAID-5 :: 2x 1TB RAID-1 :: 4x 1.5TB :: 1x 2TB
G15v2 :: MX-518 :: Xonar DX :: 7 Pro x64

2408WFP :: DT770/80 :: Onkyo TX-SR605 :: Klipsch RB-61 :: SVS PB10-NSD
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 04:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default

Can I back up data when using raid on the other harddisk or does raid combine both and not allow the backing up of data?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2008, 05:07 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 23
Default

One last thing, do I need arctic silver 5? or will the stock thermal paste suffice?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes