Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 10:42 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Stick with P5Q-E.. You're just lacking 2 things, SATA ports, you're only using 3, you don't need the extra ones, and an extra heatpipe cooling to the northbridge, you're not not going to overclock, no point then..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 10:43 AM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwestwell View Post
The Board you selected will support Raid 5 without a Raid Card it has a marvel raid controller built in..and I am pretty sure the Vendetta 2 still offers the best Bang for buck cooling out there..I would not change your selection unless you were looking at the more expensive Thermalright 120...
Forgive me if I am wrong, I have no practical experience harware based controller cards because the cost is still a little out of my league. It is a goal of mine though, I think such an investment would last many computer upgrades
since drive technology moves slower and a HW based controller would significantly boost the disk subsystem which is normally quite limited in performance (in comparrison). Upgrading the drives you use with it will also improve things and help lengthen it's lifetime.

However, from everything I have read on the subject, integraded mobo chipset raid 5 performance sucks. Use Raid 0 or 1. If you really want raid 5, then at least get a host based raid card, but preferably a hardware based raid card. The host based raid card will still use the cpu for all the computational raid tasks, but do much better than the mobo chipset. A hardware based raid card has an onboard processor and ram to handle the tasks and is much much faster.

The marvell controller on this board may be better though, or at least equal a host based card. Can anyone confirm?

/edit: Hey! System is look'in good!

.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 10:51 AM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

Personally I am not a fan of Raid 5 outside of servers...I think its a waste of drives...but yes you are correct you will get better performance from a separate raid card depending on the card you get....however you will run into other issues several raid cards only support up to a certain level of storage in an array.. a raid card is not a future proof device it suffers the same hold backs as any hardware..They can also cost a pretty penny to get a decent one..I would just go with Raid 0 with the on board controller assuming redundancy is not the issue here it's performance..
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 10:52 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

You are absolutely right Litho, I deleted my post too earlier because I wasn't entirely sure.. Onboard RAID 5 might be a little better than RAID0, but not close to how a RAID 5 with a RAID controller would do. I'd just do RAID 0 if I were you Terrance..
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 11:09 AM
Terrance's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 22
Default

Ok then I'll go back to RAID0, I'm not too sure about RAID5 anyway, I'll just cross my finger knock on the wood and hope none of them would die till my next system upgrade...
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 11:09 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

And RAID 0 offers next-to no real advantage when using the latest drives. Stick a 640Gb drive in there and call it quits. You'll be quite pleased with the performance. As for the AC7 Pro vs. the Vendetta II, try to find the OCZ - it's really worth it.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 11:19 AM
Terrance's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 22
Default

No real advantage? ...Now I'm baffled, I always thought that RAID0 provides at least 1.5 times more speed than single drive, if that's not true, I'll just get a 1TB Seagate 7200.11 w/ 32M cache, this one even offers more cache...
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 11:27 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,656

My System Specs

Default

The latest drives are that fast. Unless I use hardware-based RAID 0, I don't see myself using that again.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 12:21 PM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

As I mentioned before the WD 1TB Black Edition is wicked fast...check it out.
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2008, 12:26 PM
Terrance's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 22
Default

WD 1TB Caviar GP SATA II w/16M cache, is it this one? 16M cache?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes