Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:03 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default Antec 900 | E8400 build ver 2.0

If you may not already know, i'm working on a new machine, that is roughly 50% complete.


My budget (remaining) is $500-ish. I prefer Intel to AMD, but that's the only real preference I have.

The machine is going to be used for moderate amounts of gaming and media-related tasks (such as video encoding and capturing), in addition to normal everyday tasks (such as web browsing, watching movies, etc).


1) All parts mentioned are purchased from Bestbyte Computers - as i don't have a credit card, or otherwise can't be arsed to do online shopping (security etc). This is the biggest, best, and most cost-effective store near me that's easily travelable.

2) I'm planning on taking some baby steps in to the overclocking world. I plan on overclocking my processor to around 3.5Ghz.

The current build specs (Italicized parts are already in posession):

Quote:
Case: Antec 900
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @3.0Ghz, 1333MHz FSB (45nm)
HSF: OCZ Vendetta II w/ Antec Silver TIM
Motherboard: Asus P5Q SE LGA775 ATX PCI-E EPU MB
Power Supply: CoolerMaster eXtreme Power Duo 600W PSU
Graphics Card: Sapphire HD4850 512MB DDR3 PCI-E
Memory: OCZ 2P8004GK 2x2G PC2-6400 Platinum Kit
Hard Drives: Primary: 160GB Seagate Barracuda SATA3G; Secondary: 500GB Western Digital SATA3G
Optical Drives: 2 x LG GH22NS30 22x DVDRW SATA BLK
To break it down, here is what I have and what I need:

HAVE

Case: Antec 900
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @3.0Ghz, 1333MHz FSB (45nm)
HSF: OCZ Vendetta II
Motherboard: Asus P5Q SE LGA775 ATX PCI-E EPU MB
Hard Drives: Primary: 160GB Seagate Barracuda SATA3G; Secondary: 500GB Western Digital SATA3G

NEED

OS: Windows Vista Home Premium 64-bit
TIM: Antec Silver TIM
Power Supply: CoolerMaster eXtreme Power Duo 600W PSU
Graphics Card: Sapphire HD4850 512MB DDR3 PCI-E
Memory: OCZ 2P8004GK 2x2G PC2-6400 Platinum Kit
Optical Drives: 2 x LG GH22NS30 22x DVDRW SATA BLK


-----------------------------

I understand this is the second version of this thread, but the other one was too cluttered, and untidy--this one is condensed, with info organized as neatly as i could, so that you're not wasting your time trying to figure out my post :)

Comments, suggestions, flames, experiences much appreciated! But please, don't tell me to buy stuff online, i don't do online shopping :/
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/

Last edited by Mr. Gruntsworthy; October 3, 2008 at 05:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:08 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

personally I'm not a fan of the 900 and believe the Coolermaster 300, 590, 690 offer better alternatives.

You only need 1 optical drive not 2.

I still say go with Vista HP 32bit not 64bit and 64bit will offer you nothing over 32bit.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:23 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
personally I'm not a fan of the 900 and believe the Coolermaster 300, 590, 690 offer better alternatives.

You only need 1 optical drive not 2.

I still say go with Vista HP 32bit not 64bit and 64bit will offer you nothing over 32bit.

Well, the Antec 900 was the most appealing to me, and it looks like it has the size and airflow to get the job done well. To each their own i guess, but for me it's the Antec; i'm really diggin it. Besides, heh, i already have the case

I'm getting windows Vista 64-bit to help nudge (ever so slightly) the industry forward towards 64 bit computing instead of 32 bit. Plus, I want to be able to get the full 4GB of my system memory useable. Plus, the OS moderately future-proofs me for a little longer than staying with 32 bit would

As far as the optical drives go, Two is better than one in case the one fails, or i want to copy a disc or something. They're cheap drives anyways :P




By the way, my motherboard is Dual Channel enabled; but if i go single channel, which color RAM slot do I use? Black or Yellow? (it's dual-channel DDR2)
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:24 PM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

Well I am glad to see you are picking up the Vendetta...you were getting these from Best-Byte right....I think that was you.....anyway I know cases a about preferance but if I was going for the antec I would look at the 1200 or as firebane said Coolmaster offers some really nice cases to compete with antec. I would loose the extra DVDRW unless you are just buying a spare for fun...is it possible to get a Corsair hx620 or TX750 instead of the coolmaster. I know the Coolmaster will cut it and is likely cheaper....but just for quality PSU sake maybe get a corsair, and I would definetly get some different ram I have expeirence with Apacer from my old store it is cheap cheap cheap.....I would a least get kingston value ram before apacer but you should be able to find some nice Corsair XMS2 ram at a local shop without to much hunting....as for 64bit vs 32bit you may want to up your ram to 8GB in the future which would point you toward 64bit however by the time that happens DDR3 will likely be the standard..I dont know if you want to avoid having 3.25 or 3.5GB of ram showing up you will want to stay 64bit.

On you motherboard you will see tiny little writing next to the ram slots that say Dimm slot A1 Dimm slot A2 and then B1 and B2 you want to populate Dimm slot A1 and A2 for dual channel unless the manual states otherwise which you may want to read. Usually the slot closest to the CPU is Dimm Slot A1 so that would be yellow in your case.
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit


Last edited by cwestwell; October 1, 2008 at 02:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:29 PM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

Um, im not sure if my motherboard can support 8GB of ram. I have two pairs of Dual Channel DDR2 slots (one black, one yellow); instead of using two pairs of two dual-channel, can I use all four slots for single channel? I know that both slots in the pair are DDR2 (as compared to my current build's mobo which uses dual-channel of DDR and DDR2 instead)
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:31 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

nothing takes advantage of 4gb of memory and nothing will take advantage of 8gb of memory anytime soon.

People will say that Vista allocates its memory to the OS fine; but in general software and applications will not require 4gb of memory any time soon.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:34 PM
cwestwell's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: NWT
Posts: 675
Default

Yeah you can use 8GB if you use every slot on your board it will support it. likely it would be single channel however the performance is generally marginal difference.

Edit.....This board will support Dual Dual channel if that is any concern.
__________________
_______________________________________________

E8600 420x10 |Thermalright 120 Black | Maximus Formula | ATI 4870X2 | 4GB Buffalo FireStiX PC8500 | Corsair HX1000 | Lian Li V2010B | Vista Ultimate 64bit


Q6600 334x9 |Thermaltake Blu Orb | ASUS P5Q-PRO| ATI 2900XT | 6GB Corsair XMS2 PC6400 | Corsair HX520 | Lian Li V600B | Vista Home Premium 64bit

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 02:42 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Your mobo supports 8-16gb just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 1, 2008, 08:26 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

Looks like it should be a good build.

You might want to pick up some isopropol alcohol at the pharmacy for cleaning your cpu prior to installing the heatsink. Don't get rubbing alcohol as it has impurities, ask the pharmacist for 99% if you can't find it on the shelves. (Some stores keep it behind the counter with the sterno.... :) ). Everybody has a different preference, but I like to use coffee filters for cleaning... it's lint free and has just enough grit to it for removing old thermal compound. (You did have a vid card to do as well didn't you?).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 2, 2008, 05:12 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 738
Default

the cpu is new so there isn't any prior thermal paste residue on it :)

Three weeks to go until my computer is complete.

Wait, how does my mobo support up to 16GB of ram? it only has two pairs of two slots. I've yet to see RAM sticks that come bigger than 2GB.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: Antec 900
CPU : Intel E8400 45nm Core 2 Duo @ 3GHz 1333MHz FSB
RAM : 4GB DDR2 800MHz (OCZ Platinum)
HDD : Main: 120GB SSD SATA2 (OCZ) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : HD4850 (512MB)
PSU : 610W PC Power Silencer
MoBo: Asus P5Q SE
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080

Oshawa Deathmatch Community -- An open group for Durham/Toronto Airsoft, Paintball, and Nerf players. Come join!

I am a Level/Game Designer! http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes