Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 08:19 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 179
Default 4850 Crossfire rig worth it?

is a 4850 crossfire rig worth it would I see a huge improvement compared to one 4850 or even a single 4870?..I've changed my build like 800 times cause my budget keeps changing but I think I might go for a crossfire rig. below is what I have so far.

Mobo:Gigabyte EP45-DS3R CrossfireX
CPU:E7200
GPU:HIS 4850 2 Crossfire
PSU:Corsair TC650W
RAM: OCZ Platinum XTC 2x2GB
Case: Antec 300
HDD: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
DVD drive: some LG cheap one.
Other: Antec 120mm Green LED Fanx2
Other: Artic Cooler MX-2
Other: OCZ Vendetta 1
Other: Xigmatek Crossbow

Total: 907.64

Now from what I know, my CPU shouldn't bottleneck the two 4850s as long as I OC which I am prepared for with the OCZ Vendetta 1. with tax, shipping, and insurance it should come up to about 980. anything I can cheap up on to save some cash? I'm trying to get it to 900 bucks max.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 08:44 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,978

My System Specs

Default

I have a 4850 Crossfire set up and i love it...

There arnt that many games that use crossfire yet.... but the unpatched verstion of assassins creed is increable in cf
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 08:56 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 179
Default

wait so games need to be patched to allow crossfire? how about Crysis and Crysis warhead?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 09:47 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Ditch that CPU and get an E8400, they're cheap cheap cheap..and of course I'm Nvidia biased, get a single GTX 260 SC (216 Core)...
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 10:09 PM
mattlef's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,978

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lanken123 View Post
wait so games need to be patched to allow crossfire? how about Crysis and Crysis warhead?
No,
Assassins Creed was orginally coded to use Crossfire, but NVidia threw money their way, so they tweaked the game a bit and released a "patch" after release which favoured the Nvidia Cards over ATi.... there was a huge thing about it when it was released...

but for proof, i get around 20-25 more fps on the "unpatched aka untouched" version of AC
__________________
Co-Host of the Dam Good Show

My Rig: Motivation 2.0
----------------
Build log - Motivation: Sponsored by Galaxy and Corsair
---------------
Check out the HardwareCanucks Youtube Channel for News/Reviews and more!
Instagram Twitter
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 10:44 PM
Menello's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 81
Default

That's ridiculous, I can't believe Ubisoft would be bought out by nVidia... it's pathetic, really.

But staying on topic, I'd recommend a larger hard drive! I know it has nothing to do with 4850s in Crossfire, but if you're like me, you'll find yourself filling up a 160GB in no time!

Also, HWC has in fact reviewed Crossfire cards before. This link: ATI HD4870 & HD4850 Crossfire Performance Review may prove useful to you.
__________________
The box:
Mobo: eVGA NF66 nForce 650i Ultra SPP
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.03GHz
RAM: 1x2GB
OCZ DDR2-800 PC2-6400
+ 2x2GB Crucial DDR2-800 PC2-6400
= 6GB RAM (finally more than 2GB!)
GPU: XFX GeForce9800GTX+
HDDs: 500 Seagate, 640 GB WD Caviar Black
PSU: CoolerMaster 600W
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 29, 2008, 10:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 179
Default

don't think I'd need anymore then that...I'm using a 80 gig hard drive for like 2-3 years and I've never filled it lol.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes