Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2008, 10:05 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

I say do it up! Too many people worry about money, you can't take it with you when you go and there is always more around the corner. Money grows on trees! LITERALLY it's made out of paper people!

I hope you enjoy the rig, I'd build on myself if it was my urge! Instead I'm buying new snowboard gear, a new mountain AND a new motorcycle this year so a rig of this stature will have to wait!

p.s. No point in going with those server class boards, can't tri-sli em!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2008, 10:21 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 207
Default

tazer IBM Ultra320 SCSI Internal Hard Drive are $1400 usd and look very promising but i can get 4 300gb v rappys for that price CTI Store - IBM Corporation - 42C0822 - IBM Ultra320 SCSI...
__________________
CPU: Dual QX9775
MOBO:D5400xs
Ram: 4GB FB-Dimm
PSU:Koolance 1300 Watt
Graphics: Tri sli XXX GTX280 XXX
HDD:2 Supertalent SSD
LCD:24IN Samsung wide
CASE:TT Armor
Danger Den WC Setup
4 Pelts 226Watt
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 12:18 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

Yea, U320's can get very expensive. But, really may not be any faster than Ultra160's. Geuss it depends if you dont mind sacrificing a bit of space ( or alot ) for speed. Depends on the pin count of the drive, # of drives, and the platter size ( dimension not volume ).
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 01:40 AM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,157
Default

1300W going to be enough? :P thats a lot of nic ethings... so jealous!
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 02:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 207
Default

well its a koolance 1300 watt/1700 watt on 220 might have to put in a little extra juice so i think that 1300 watts will be enough if no the i am going to have to get an electriction in here
__________________
CPU: Dual QX9775
MOBO:D5400xs
Ram: 4GB FB-Dimm
PSU:Koolance 1300 Watt
Graphics: Tri sli XXX GTX280 XXX
HDD:2 Supertalent SSD
LCD:24IN Samsung wide
CASE:TT Armor
Danger Den WC Setup
4 Pelts 226Watt
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 06:50 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

hmmm, maybe you just better juice up and get your own unlimited power supply back-up. Like wind turbine! LoL, yea, tap in direct:P
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 07:40 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 207
Default

lmao lol ok youll have to laon me the cash for that one lol the wife will kill me
__________________
CPU: Dual QX9775
MOBO:D5400xs
Ram: 4GB FB-Dimm
PSU:Koolance 1300 Watt
Graphics: Tri sli XXX GTX280 XXX
HDD:2 Supertalent SSD
LCD:24IN Samsung wide
CASE:TT Armor
Danger Den WC Setup
4 Pelts 226Watt
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 07:43 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post
I hope you enjoy the rig, I'd build on myself if it was my urge! Instead I'm buying new snowboard gear, a new mountain AND a new motorcycle this year so a rig of this stature will have to wait!
OT: Whatcha get for board gear? I'm waiting for my Custom X to arrive. Can't wait for my annual west side trip to run all my new gear.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 07:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 32
Default

How did you acquire all this money, i mean im just asking because this is a huge ******* waste of it.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old September 22, 2008, 09:21 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Yes Reno please tell us what you do because id love to have that much cash and the thought of your wife not getting this cash almost makes me smile lol:P i dont know how yu convinced her to spend that money on a pc but nice job.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes