Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 03:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default Not my first build, however...

Hi everybody! I'm from Quebec so please excuse my bad english. This is my first post since I'm new on HC. I ordered these parts from DirectCanada on monday:

¤AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 Windsor 3.0GHZ 2000FSB 2X1MB 90NM Retail Box
¤Gigabyte GA-MA78G-DS3H AMD780G ATX AM2+ 2PCI-E SATA RAID Sound GLAN 1394 CrossFireX HDMI Motherboard
¤Diamond Radeon Hd 4850 512MB GDDR3 PCI-E Dual DVI-I Hdcp Hdtv Out Video Card
¤Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 3.5IN 500GB SATA2 8.5MS 7200RPM 32MB Cache Ncq Hard Drive Oem
¤Antec Three Hundred Mini Tower Gaming Case 300 ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5INT No PS Front USB & Audio
¤OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W ATX 20/24PIN SLI Ready Modular Cables 120MM Fan Active PFC Power Supply
¤Logitech Premium Stereo Headset W/ Noise Canceling Microphone & IN-LINE Controls
¤Arctic Silver 5 HIGH-DENSITY Polysynthetic Silver Thermal Compound 3.5 Gram
¤LG GH22NS30 Black DVD+RW 22X8X16 DVD-RW 22X6X16 DL 16X/12X 2MB SATA OEM
¤Apc Basic 6 Outlets Surge Protector New Package
¤Antec TriCool 120MM Case Fan 3-SPEED 1200/1600/2200RPM 25/28/30DBA 39/56/79CFM 3 & 4PINS
¤Antec TriCool 120MM Red LED Case Fan 3/4 Pin W/ 3 Speed Switch
¤Cyber Snipa Scout Webcam 640X480 30FPS 3X Zoom USB 1.1

Now, this ain't my first build, but back when I built my last computer, some things were different; the use of IDE, small video cards, and more.

I just want to know if there is any special precaution I should observe while building this thing.

And if this computer will be able to play current games.

Thank you,


381

SH*T!!!! I forgot to buy memory!!! I just ordered 2GB of Kingston 2GB DDR2 NON-ECC CL5 DIMM 800MHz memory... Express shipping...

Last edited by ced381; September 17, 2008 at 04:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 04:08 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Nope, no special precautions at all, most important is to take your time and enjoying building it. Will it play games? It depends on the resolution of your screen, but the 4850 is a very good video card.

Now, I hope that you have some DDR2 ram 'cause I don't see any listed...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 04:15 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC!
Posts: 618

My System Specs

Default

LOL oops! I am not to up on the AMD line of chips and such. Are you going to run a hybrid video setup with your onboard video and you video card?

[H] Enthusiast - AMD's ATI Hybrid CrossFire Sneak Peek Exclusive

Good luck with the build, and put something in the Worklog for us to admire!
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 06:45 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Yeah 3.0charlie... I noticed two days later that I forgot to order ram... I ordered it earlier today. Purolator Air, should be fast! I hope so, it was 20$ more... Anyway, I'll take pictures while building it and after it's done.

Later,

381
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2008, 12:03 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ced381 View Post
Yeah 3.0charlie... I noticed two days later that I forgot to order ram... I ordered it earlier today. Purolator Air, should be fast! I hope so, it was 20$ more... Anyway, I'll take pictures while building it and after it's done.

Later,

381
Probably, the only "reminder" would be to make sure you plug in the auxillary power to the graphics card. When coming from AGP cards..or even just less-powerful PCIe cards.. most people overlook this, and then wonder why the PC doesn't boot...and :

1. the fans just spin for a second then nothing or

2. the motherboard blares at you.

I guess (depending on how ancient your last build is), it might be worthwhile to remind you to check that you plugged in the ATX-12V plug(4-pin square)..at the top of the motherboard. GL with the build.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2008, 09:08 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks for the advices guys.

But I'll never order from DC ever again. They said I would have my stuff after 4-5 days, but when I look my order on Post Canada or Purolator, it says that I won't get any of it before September 25th. They are sending my stuff in 5 shippments, and one of them is still pending in Vancouver!!! Also I ordered RAM a few days ago and I paid 24$ to get fast air shipping, but it's still pending in Vancouver. Next time I'll pay a little more and buy here in Quebec.

Anyway
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 04:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Okay, I almost got all the parts I ordered. I'm still waiting for the surge bar and the video card. Every step of the building went fine, the computer is up and running well! I'll post pictures of the building soon. May also make a tutorial based on the building.

Later guys!

381
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes