Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 04:34 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default Looking To Upgrade

My current rig is really starting to slow me down, so soon it may be time for an upgrade. I definitely need a new card as the 3870 i got from my friend ended up being what screwed up my computer all summer and my 1900 xt works well, but the fan makes weird loud noises and its only dx9. But no matter what I buy it will be really limited by my old 4200+. I gotta stick with AM2 cause I'm not buying a new mobo. I also am thinking of picking up a sound card so i don't have to deal with onboard anymore. I am however rather limited by cash, and I may only end up being able to go through with part of this upgrade.

Here's what I was thinknig:

CPU: 6000+ or highest Black Edition (5200+ at 2.6 I think).
My board is a good overclocker so I could get some extra value out of a black edition, but I don't really have the skills or time to truly get my money's worth out of one (first year engineering student and I only have a medium-sized heatsink) so I may just go with a regular one (6000+ at 3.0 was the highest I could find)

GPU: 4850 or a 4870 if I can get a really good deal. Really don't know what
manufacturer to go with.

Sound Card: an ASUS Xonar DX. Cheaper card but very good value.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2008, 04:36 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

I might be selling my 4870 soon, still haven't decided, so keep a lookout on the B&S section.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 10:23 PM
Scart's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Alberta
Posts: 233
Default

I am the only person on this website you has ever used a amd x2 or what?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 17, 2008, 10:50 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,782

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scart View Post
I am the only person on this website you has ever used a amd x2 or what?
I jumped off of the AMD ship when they screwed us over by dropping S939 production and won't go back until they give me a reason to. I suspect many others are either in the same boat, or have been Intel all along.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2008, 10:34 AM
nige's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kitchener, On
Posts: 220

My System Specs

Default

i am in the middle of upgrading my 939 platform to AM2+. I stayed with AMD because I hear the new AM3 cpu will fit in the AM2+ board i recently bought. The amd cpu's are cheaper than intel. I basically got the same stuff you are looking for. I bought an AMD 5000+ B.E. for $70, a palit 4850 for about $180 after taxes, shipping and m.i.r. and i just got my gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 in the mail yesterday. I will try overclocking the cpu once i get the system running but i know it's going to be a world of difference between my old s939 3000+ and ati 9600XT.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2008, 10:39 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nige View Post
i am in the middle of upgrading my 939 platform to AM2+. I stayed with AMD because I hear the new AM3 cpu will fit in the AM2+ board i recently bought. The amd cpu's are cheaper than intel. I basically got the same stuff you are looking for. I bought an AMD 5000+ B.E. for $70, a palit 4850 for about $180 after taxes, shipping and m.i.r. and i just got my gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DS5 in the mail yesterday. I will try overclocking the cpu once i get the system running but i know it's going to be a world of difference between my old s939 3000+ and ati 9600XT.
90% sure AM3 is NOT compatible with AM2 but AM2 is compatible with AM3
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 18, 2008, 12:39 PM
nige's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kitchener, On
Posts: 220

My System Specs

Default

here is a little more information. Socket AM3 - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia it looks as though they will make the 2 platforms somewhat interchangeable unlike socket 939
if you wait to buy a socket am3 cpu upgrade, it will fit on your am2 motherboard

Last edited by nige; September 18, 2008 at 12:45 PM. Reason: added link
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes