Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > New Builds

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 10:31 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OH, USA
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
May not be conductive but it can be more prone to static buildup than people think.

the linoleum, you mean?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 10:39 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wein13 View Post
the linoleum, you mean?
Yes.

I've build computers on all sorts of different materials and never had any problems.

Carpet, Plastic, Lino, Hardwood, and Concrete and I've been doing this for quiet some time.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 01:02 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

Personally, I can build em on a bathroom sink, and the staircase landing, standing up IN THE PC STORE! LoL. It dont really matter.
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 01:45 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OH, USA
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tazer-[X] View Post
Personally, I can build em on a bathroom sink, and the staircase landing, standing up IN THE PC STORE! LoL. It dont really matter.
lol, I doubt that I can. This will be my first build, after all.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 03:52 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

THe thing aoubt building a PC is that, you cant mess up. Jsut go and touch the cat and get the static zap out! THan, remember, thats its all color coded these days. ANd, you cant stuff a stick of ram in backwards, or upside down. And dont worry bout that cable management stuffs for a while, till your totally comfy with a tear down and rebuild.
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 06:15 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tazer-[X] View Post
THe thing aoubt building a PC is that, you cant mess up. Jsut go and touch the cat and get the static zap out! THan, remember, thats its all color coded these days. ANd, you cant stuff a stick of ram in backwards, or upside down. And dont worry bout that cable management stuffs for a while, till your totally comfy with a tear down and rebuild.
You'd be surprised...

You may think its all easy and only fits one way but other people have a real hard time comprehending that. They'll just keep applying force until it goes together....
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 07:15 PM
Menello's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
Posts: 81
Default

It's pretty amazing just how robust computer parts are these days.

They still don't like electrostatic charges though...
__________________
The box:
Mobo: eVGA NF66 nForce 650i Ultra SPP
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.03GHz
RAM: 1x2GB
OCZ DDR2-800 PC2-6400
+ 2x2GB Crucial DDR2-800 PC2-6400
= 6GB RAM (finally more than 2GB!)
GPU: XFX GeForce9800GTX+
HDDs: 500 Seagate, 640 GB WD Caviar Black
PSU: CoolerMaster 600W
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 08:17 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OH, USA
Posts: 93
Default

I've installed upgrades in my computers - RAM, hard drives, video cards. But I've never worked with a mobo, CPU, CPU Cooler, or PSU. That's the stuff that worries me more, especially mobo into case and CPU cooler onto CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 09:01 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,085

My System Specs

Default

Mobo into case is easy. Note holes in mobo, make sure you have stand-off's (little brass nuts with screw holes) in your case where the mobo holes are. Put back-plate into hole, place mobo in, insert screws into standoffs.

I suggest you mount your CPU and HSF before putting mobo into case, also connect 4 or 8 pin CPU power before, it can be a tight fit for your hands with cooler on.

Everything has to have power and data. That's my standard double-check before the oh sh!t moment when you hit the power button.
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2008, 10:47 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

A good bbackplate for a good back plane, back in the day LoL. Used to have like little holes drilled em right? Thats where you bolt the backplane to the backplate. BUt, first, beside those little holes, their used to be little arrows, and some of them say things like ATX, mATX, and the other formats for boards. So, jsut for you to know, sometimes its good, to line up your plate, and than balance your mobo infront of it, than hang it beside your case. There have been times SOME system builders put it all together and found it to be not aligned LoL ( not refering to meself )
__________________
Acer 5920G ( Stock Air ) no OC:P
At least its DX10!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes