Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 02:03 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

currently most isp's do have their own equipment but not in the CO's. Bell basically owns all the big infrastructre and rents it out to the resellers / wholesalers. I believe bell does ofer a colo service in their co's if you have the cash and the equip-ment but they are usually so packed with bell equipment it isn't financially feasible considering the cost of dslam equipment. I the ong run we all get screwed for our internet as it has to on either bell, shaw/rogers/cogeco, or video tron. However one thing that i know some people have been doing is buying to 2 dsl lines from my isp and then bonding them with tomato/mlppp and considering the low cap per line is 200GB and the only other plan right now is unlimited :) alot of people have been doing it. Well except me since i loath linksys products and there is no mlppp option for my netgear.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 06:10 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,912
Default

5Mbps down and 800Kbps up with Acanac..get them, they're cheap..like 20bucks for the first year and after 30 or something...speed is good and no cap or throttling..
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 07:22 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
5Mbps down and 800Kbps up with Acanac..get them, they're cheap..like 20bucks for the first year and after 30 or something...speed is good and no cap or throttling..
They're a bell reseller, so it will be the same thing as I have now.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 07:46 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,912
Default

Most of them are resellers but at least you'll be on an unlimited plan with no traffic shaping...
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 08:24 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
They're a bell reseller, so it will be the same thing as I have now.
which is why you should go with teksavvy as they are a wholeseller not a reseller.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 09:48 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
Most of them are resellers but at least you'll be on an unlimited plan with no traffic shaping...
Already get that with the company i am with, I work for an ISP so i get it at a.. heavy discount ;).

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
which is why you should go with teksavvy as they are a wholeseller not a reseller.
Theyre a reseller, they have no physical presence other than at their ERXs. If I didnt work for the company i work for, I'd be with TekSavvy. Im asking for a non-bell reseller but looks like there are no options.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 10:06 PM
Jon_di2's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 895
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by omgwtf View Post
5Mbps down and 800Kbps up with Acanac..get them, they're cheap..like 20bucks for the first year and after 30 or something...speed is good and no cap or throttling..
How could there be no throttling? They are reselling a bell line, and bell throttles all of the lines that they resell for P2P apps?

I had techsavvy in Ottawa and they were pretty good, great customer service, and I had the speeds that they advertised. But again for any P2P applications there is throttling.

I also had Nexicom in Peterborough, great speeds, even faster then advertised, but I think they only provide serive for Central Ontario and the Kawarthas.
Nexicom - Connected. Naturally. Internet, Telephone, Cable TV, Security, Web Design
__________________
EVGA780i FTW|Q9450@3.3|2x2GB Mushkin Redline 8000|GTX 260 Core 216 65nm|Corsair TX750|Antec 900|Acer 22|Antec Multimedia Premier|WD 640GB|Seagate 500GB|Logitech G15|Vista64
EVGA790i FTW|E8400@4.1|4x1GB Aeneon Xtune DDR3-1866|2xGTX 260 55nm|CM 750W| CM690|Viewsonic 25.5|Seagate 500GBx2|Logitech G5|Razer Lycosa|Scythe Kaze Master 5.25|Win7 & XP
Dell XPS M170|Pentium M @2.00|2GB DDR2 @667MHz|Nvidia GeForce Go 7800 GTX|120GB|17" WUXGA|XP32
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 11:56 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
Already get that with the company i am with, I work for an ISP so i get it at a.. heavy discount ;).


Theyre a reseller, they have no physical presence other than at their ERXs. If I didnt work for the company i work for, I'd be with TekSavvy. Im asking for a non-bell reseller but looks like there are no options.
Well i am sure the owner of teksavvy would have a difference of opinion but if you want dsl and live in ontario/pq then chances are it is going to be going through bell's network no matter how you cut it since they had ALL of the infrastructure except up north. But as far as options go it is probably the best value for the money. Especially since they support mlppp :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 06:47 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon_di2 View Post
How could there be no throttling? They are reselling a bell line, and bell throttles all of the lines that they resell for P2P apps?

I had techsavvy in Ottawa and they were pretty good, great customer service, and I had the speeds that they advertised. But again for any P2P applications there is throttling.

I also had Nexicom in Peterborough, great speeds, even faster then advertised, but I think they only provide serive for Central Ontario and the Kawarthas.
Nexicom - Connected. Naturally. Internet, Telephone, Cable TV, Security, Web Design
Sorry I didn't think about that. Yeah its throttled but I run MLPPP so its not throttled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcdguy View Post
Well i am sure the owner of teksavvy would have a difference of opinion but if you want dsl and live in ontario/pq then chances are it is going to be going through bell's network no matter how you cut it since they had ALL of the infrastructure except up north. But as far as options go it is probably the best value for the money. Especially since they support mlppp :)
No teksavvy has no DSLAMs, thats what I'm saying. Actually I work with the Nephew and cousin of the owners of Teksavvy, so I know a great deal about em. Nice company, but unfortunately they're bell resellers with no presence. I reckon that might change soon.

Ok thanks :). I knew its pretty much Bell resold or nothing, I was hoping I might be missing something (I've never been in my co-lo, only one downtown, so I don't know who else has their own dslams).
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 06:58 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

I think it really depends on where you are.... I switched to Rogers here in Moncton and was dreading it based on the crap service I got from them in Borden Ontario. (Throughput slowed to a crawl during peak).

I've been hooked up for a week and a half, and am happy to report that my throughput is pretty damn close to the same 8500/900 I was getting with Eastlink back in HFX, and aside from the first couple of days (they've done something to the lines since then) I haven't noticed any peak time issues.

I've got second highest tier with 95G cap so since I don't DL movies I shouldn't even come close to half of that.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes