Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 05:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 49
Default

oh i see Ill test out teksavvy after we moved. I envy japanese ppl they enjoy FTTH while not paying that high. Ive read somewhere that they only pay 50$++ for a gigabit of connection.


This is for rogers users. If your using bt clients use higher ports like 50500 to somehow allow higher download speeds. This might not apply to all but it works for me . Just sharing. Well also try non-rogers users, maybe it will work.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 06:30 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregH View Post
There's a way to bypass that throttle with Teksavvy.
I didn't look into it too much since Telus doesn't throttle P2P here in Alberta, but for those of you in Ontario who have to put up with Bell and their throttling there is a workaround - something to do with flashing the firmware on your router.

If you're interested check out the teksavvy forum over at www.dslreports.com to find out how.
yes I am aware of this however my router is not capable using that firmware as I have a netgesr and I believe it is for linksys (crap)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 29, 2008, 07:47 PM
omgwtf's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,902
Default

This is for bell users:

Set your bittorrent port to TCP/1723, and put any DHT or tracking on UDP/500, UDP/50, UDP/51.

How to defeat the throttle - dslreports.com
__________________
Memento mori
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2008, 08:28 AM
cmhyt's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thornhill(Toronto)
Posts: 66
Default

bell dose provide FTTH but its just 16M
i dont know if it has a gap,,
but its like 100 bucks a mounth for 16M,,
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2008, 12:49 AM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

Usenet FTW :) Are there any ISPS in Ontario that don't have caps?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 21, 2008, 04:53 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

currently teksavvy does. I have that service.

5mb/800k unlimited for 39.95 month.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes