Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > Networking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2008, 02:09 PM
BrainEater's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,529
Default



No file sharing.

At the time I put er together , a 120 GB was the smallest HDD I could get locally....I also do have an IDE>CF card for it , but I went with the HDD because I wanted a dual boot with backtrack 2....

__________________
Intel 3930k /rIVe/32 Gb vengeance LP/Nvidia TITAN/760/760/Intel 520's/WD raptors/etc...
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 09:32 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to give all these a shot today since I got nothing to do
  • Smoothwall
  • Astaro
  • M0n0wall
  • pfSense
  • IPCop
I'm hoping one of them supports MLPP as that would be extremely helpful for when I move to TekSavvy...

Something that runs off a USB drive would be even better but I don't know if the board I'm using supports it or not.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 10:42 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

Is that how you're putting those wireless cards to good use? with backtrack? lol
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 11:09 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
I'm going to give all these a shot today since I got nothing to do
  • Smoothwall
  • Astaro
  • M0n0wall
  • pfSense
  • IPCop
I'm hoping one of them supports MLPP as that would be extremely helpful for when I move to TekSavvy...

Something that runs off a USB drive would be even better but I don't know if the board I'm using supports it or not.
Just so you know monowall can be run off flash media as long as the computer can boot from it :)
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2008, 02:00 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,951

My System Specs

Default

Well I couldn't get Smooth Wall or IPCop working. Not too sure why...

I killed my Astaro install by mistake...

m0n0wall and pfsense I got running fine, both seem to be alright though neither has MLPP (least I couldn't find it). Might be possible to hack it in though but I have no idea how to go about that.

Might just have to give in and get a Linksys router with Tomato firmware.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes